We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not expencive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Sjofartshotellet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Ranked #75 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not expencive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Good price, ordinary rooms, ok breakfast and pretty central, not far from the old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cklouman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    256
    162
    71
    30
See reviews for
121
174
41
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PARIS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Got smoking room despite not wanting this, TV was not showing any local programs in a viewable way, they forgot to ask for my credit card during check-in, so had trouble in bar to put a bill on a room, registering credit card later in reception took at least 5 minutes, ....
So would not recommend to anyone based on my experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PHILIPPE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

+ Roof terrace
+ Helpful and friendly staff

+/- Gym and sauna, seemed a bit out of date (but atleast they have it)
+/- My room was fine and modern, but some of the rooms on the same floor as the gym looked extremely outdated. Hope they are charging low prices for these rooms...

- Nothing really negative to mention, but the hotel doesn't stand out in any way

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

It's a Scandic hotel, so you know what to expect: ok sized rooms, standard bathrooms (no bath), no fridge and standard tv-channels. The beds are not bad, but synthetic covers and pillows. There is a small restaurant which barely fits the number of guests in the morning. The breakfast is average with dry-ish scrambled eggs and such.

What's great is the bar on the top floor: it's open and overlooks the harbor. Only drawback is that it is closed when it's raining or too cold.

The location is okay, but not great. It's neither smack in the city center, nor to the lively center of Södermalm, but you can walk or take the subway at the Slussen station which is about 200 meters away.

Staff is friendly and always available. My tv-channels didn't work, but I didn't feel reporting it was going to solve that problem. Like I said, it's an okay hotel, but you can find better.

Room Tip: In the summer, get a room away from the harbor if you don't like the sun shining in your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Good hotel, central location, and pleasant stay.

Reception and breakfast area new, while rooms could use a upgrade. That said; Clean, quiet and service minded personnel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

A one night business stay in this well placed hotel 5 minutes walk from Gamla Stan. Had a small single room at front (was quiet though), room in need of refurb. Still clean,

Reception, bar and restaurant areas I would say had recently been done up. Breakfast disappointing and not open long enough, closes at 09:30 weekdays whereas most hotels open for b'fast until 10:00. Food selection was OK but staff overstretched and therefore buffet was not filled quickly enough nor were tables cleared quickly.

Having said all the above I would stay there again as it's well placed and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I am a true believer that the quality of your accomodation makes a difference in your overall impression of the city. It was my first trip to Stockholm, Scandic Sjöfartshotellet couldn't have been a better choice to shape my first impressions of the city. I was offered their new room on the top floor (the red room as I later baptised it) and I was its first user. Minimalist but stylish furnishings reminded me of a set from IKEA and I was its leading actress. But what in Stockholm doesn't scream IKEA to you? The service at the reception was of great quality and so was breakfast: together with its wonderful variety of wholemade foods (cheeses), chic decor and quick-to-clean up waiters made my stay there all the more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business travelers and family alike!

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dboyarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#87 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#79 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
BEST WESTERN Premier Collection NoFo Hotel
Mariatorget
Loginn Hotel
Loginn Hotel
#81 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sjofartshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sjofartshotellet

Property: Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Address: 26 Katarinavaegen, Stockholm 116 45, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Slussen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sjofartshotellet 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Sjofartshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Sjofartshotellet Stockholm
Scandic Sjofartshotellet Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing