We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious & comfortable room in an expensive city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spacious & comfortable room in an expensive city!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel is located in a quiet street, just a 3 to 5-minute walk to the neareset metro station, which is 1 station from the central metro station. It takes around 20-30 minutes by walk to the old town. It's better to take metro.
The room is spacious & comfortable. It is worth value in an expensive city like Stockholm. But sometimes it may be a bit noisy in the morning since workers will start to clean the street early in the morning.
There are some restaurants nearby. But you can try the restaurant in the hotel. It's unexpectedly good because I normally don't like having dinner in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazysoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, hopefully we will see you again if you return to Stockholm.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    481
    141
    31
    18
See reviews for
107
386
50
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Only downside (subjective) is that the bed was a bit to soft for my taste.

Also high remarks for the food in the restaurant, ended up eating steak tartar 2 days in a row, it was that good !
They have succeeded quite well in creating a special and comfortable environment.
Off course, subjective again, being in Stockholm Late Autumn, a special room anywere to smoke would mean another star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Lasse,

Thank you for your review. Nice to hear you had an enjoyable atumn trip to Stockholm.

If you want the possiblility to smoke without having to walk down to the main entrance, ask for our balcony rooms and you can smoke on your own private balcony.

Best Regards
Helena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have no words to express my happiness for the lively staying in Mornington. The people at the reception are really wonderful. They did do very quick services in all aspects of services just as
check in, check out . They are the real service providers in all kinds of our questions, guidance,
calling taxi etc etc.Fantastic. I stayed in Executive room. The room is quite big enough and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable. The staff who worked for house keeping are extremely polite.
Breakfast is good. But light evening dinners, I was offered including the Executive room, is not
worth. They do not have choices or options. Though the reception & restaurant lobby is too busy , I liked because of its liveliness. I liked that. Bathroom is very neat and clean. But my suggestion is that they could fix glass panels instead of shower curtains. Shower curtains make the floor more wet. My overall experience was remarkable.Thanks Mornington

Room Tip: Choose This Hotel in Stockholm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondyKarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and your tips for improvement. Thanks to concrete feedback like yours we can try and become an even better hotel.

Welcome back!

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Enter the hotel and it's a library: real books on all walls that you can read!
The same applies to the room, each one quite personalised with different selection of books. :)

The staff is very attentive and gentle, much better than in the average hotel in Scandinavia.
The breakfast is ok, not the best but rather good: in summer you can eat in the internal garden making the experience really optimal.

add to this the perfect position near nice shops, excellent restaurants, and near the TBana.

One cannot ask for better in Stockholm (especially for the price)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Really nice to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our hidden garden and lobby library, I hope you return to us on your next visit.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the Mornington a few years ago and it was great to be back there. This hotel is located slightly to the north of the city centre but in a rather calm neighbourhood. Located at a short walk from the Saluhallen, you won't be short on food options either. There are a few metro stations in the immediate area too. Staff is generally very kind and helpful and displays a lovely sense of humour. Always nice when people can make you laugh after a long day.

Rooms are modern and equipped with all mod cons. My room also had a free water cooker and access to the health club, which is nice. The bed and bathroom were all very practical. WiFi is free. Unlike some other reviewers I failt to see what the problem is with how you connect to the network. You get day vouchers that can be used on all your devices (phone, tablet, computer) without limitations, speed is good too.

The breakfast buffet offers sufficient choice with cold cuts, cereals, eggs and several choices in bread and pastry. The hotel restaurant and bar offer a choice of simple meals, but I'd go and eat out if I had the choice. It's certainly not bad but there's better to be had if you walk a few blocks.

I love the book theme the hotel has going on. The reception, the bar and restaurant and the rooms themselves are stocked with books in Swedish and English. Lovely accent and maybe even a nice thing to browse through on quieter evenings.

All in all a no-brainer when you're visiting Stockholm on business.

Room Tip: Try to take a room that offers access to the health club if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eindvijand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I´d like to thank you for giving us your point of view from your stay with us. I am not only glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit but also appretiated our library, health club and our carefully designed rooms.
I hope you will return to us and our beautiful city.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Morning hotel was a fantastic place to stay during our long weekend in Stockholm. The only reason I am scoring it 4/5 rather than 5/5 is because it was a bit far from the old town which we would have preferred with not much going on in the local area (more our fault for not choosing a better location!) and there was some noisy works going on nearby (again not the fault of the hotel but did impact our stay). In terms of the hotel itself, it cannot be faulted. You are greeted by extremely friendly staff, the decor of bookshelves makes it feel homey, the rooms are clean and spacious, the shower was fantastic and the bed one of the most comfortable I've stayed in. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyannakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. All feedback are good for us.
We are glad you liked the staff and the room.

I hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything was ok with this place, the staff where friendly but not too much. The room was just about right, the breakfast was ok. The gym was very good. Overall it's a bit expensive for what you get. But I think that's just how it is in Sweden compared to other countries. The location of the hotel is also very good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank paulh29341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#15 of 154 in Stockholm
672 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
1,137 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
581 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Property: Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing