We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The girl on reception deserves a raise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The girl on reception deserves a raise!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Booked for a business trip and what a delight - greeted by a fabulous young lady on reception, she not only upgraded and moved our rooms to be next to each other but then proceeded to help us locate many places we need to go in the city - the next day she had even thought of somewhere else we may want to see! She was the only brunette on reception if the management are reading this.
Rooms were good and great mix of modern design and the book theme that goes across the hotel. Only slight let down was the restaurant - food was good but service did leave a bit to be desired at times which was a shame. Would still highly recommend the Mornington as a place to stay though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraTravels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad you liked the service in the reception. The staff in the reception makes me very proud, they are doing a great job.

We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    488
    144
    33
    18
See reviews for
110
396
50
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

really nice design room, very clean, close to station and heart of Stockholm shopping and also night life. The breakfast is best i have ever seen, lots of cheese, ham, fruit , coffee choices. Big bar and library at the lobby that you can also order your wine or cocktail and rest. And also reception work as a tourist guide, you can ask everything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave this nice review. This gives us energy to continue our work.

I hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Mornington Hotel was a cozy hotel with great character. Its situated in a quiet area of the city yet still walking distance from the main attractions.

A few notes:
- there are books everywhere: in the lobby and room giving it a warm home like feeling
- the bedroom and bathroom were clean and well maintained
- breakfast had a good options
- the room had complimentary sparkling water
- there was no safe in the room
- the bathroom came with a towel warmer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewall21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you next time you are in Stockholm

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staying for a week on business and I am impressed. This hotel is stylish without being designer, which means its comfortable, cosy and actually feels like being at home.

It's hard to find a hotel in Stockholm that is central, modern and affordable, but this hotel is all those things.

Although the rooms are small by international standards, they are bigger than some other hotels in Stockholm and big enough to fit a double bed, TV, desk and chairs.

The wardrobe is large enough with plenty of coat hangers so I can hang my entire wardrobe. It might sound obvious or silly to mention that but other hotels in the city only give you a hook and two coat hangers.

There is also a nice big shower with plenty of toiletries, refrigerator with sparkling water (but no minibar), a hair dryer is supplied, free WIFI (just get the codes from reception), a gym downstairs, good room service food and coffee & tea making facilities which I always enjoy.

All the shops are within 5-10 minutes walking distance and if you don't want to eat at the hotel there are also plenty of restaurants nearby.

I would choose to stay here again because its like a home away from home. It's suitable for business travellers equally as well as for those travelling for pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hforsberg, Revenue Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
Our aim is to make all our guests leave with the "home away from home" feeling and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.

I hope we will see you again soon.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In this hotel you'll be set in a nice, quiet neighbourhood. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by, however. Nice farmers marker too. Cruise ship harbour within 10 minutes walking distance. The old town and sødermalm perhaps 20 minutes on foot.
The hotel lobby and restaurant is like a library. Bookshelves All over. Breakfast is excellent though a touch crowded by fellow travellers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albusluni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to leave the review.

I hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is perfect for a weekend trip to Stockholm, walking distance to most of the place of interest. Bt the rooms are small but the service and breakfast is excellent in this hotel and that make up for the small rooms...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonastq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I just stayed at the Mornington with 2 friends for 4 nights this week. What a great hotel!! First off, the location is perfect. It is situated in a quiet, upscale part of town, near to the subway and about a 15 mins walk from central station. There are several restaurants nearby and great shopping nearby also. For young people, a happening bar is located about 1/4 mile down the street towards the harbor. There is also a nice outdoor square within 2 mins walk with vendors etc.

The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were great. My room was small (probably standard for Europe) and clean. The mattress was amazingly comfortable and I slept well because of this. The heat tended to be on high so opening the window a crack made the temp perfect at night.
The bathroom was small (no tub but that didn't change anything for me) but perfect.

They offer free in-room wifi if you have a laptop or tablet. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with some hot food choices, cereals, breads, cheeses, fruit, juices, and coffee.

Finally, I think the price was pretty good. I would definitely recommend this place and would absolutely stay here again if I travel to Stockholm.

As a traveler's tip, recognize there is more than 1 Mornington hotel so make sure you tell your cab driver this is the one on Nyborgatan (cabs in stockholm are very expensive!)

Room Tip: there is construction across the street so stay away from there. Otherwise, rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. This makes us proud and gives us energi to keep up the good work.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
690 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,217 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Property: Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing