We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Books !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel well located in Stockholm (within walking distance of almost everything). They are books everywhere and the room was very comfy and well decorated.
Amazing breakfast buffet and helpful staff.
Free access to sauna and a gym.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elanor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

I am so glad you took your time to leave your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. All opinions are greatful for us, you give us energi to continue our work.

Welcome back to us!

Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is in a good location in Stockholm and is a fair hotel. It's nothing special but the public areas are nice enough. Room was a single and so was tiny but it was clean and comfortable enough.

Fine for a business trip but not recommended for a 'destination'hotel. This is a good place to stay - a good basic 3* star hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room - the singles are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Next time you visit us you can book an Executive room that are a bit bigger.

We hope to see you soon again. Welcome back!
Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

4-star sort of hotel, in Östermalm, an elegant and expensive residential section of Stockholm, 3-minute walk from the Östermalmstorg square, metro station, famous Saluhall food halls and sea-food eateries, numerous shops and restaurants. Our "superior" room was fine, with tea/coffe equipment and free access to the gym. Front desk staff was courteous and efficient, room price quite reasonable. Breakfast was OK. Breakfast rooms were fine during the week, very crowded during the week-end as the hotel seemed to be full with tourists taking advantage of discounted week-end rates. Nevetheless we could always find a table without having to wait more than a couple minutes. Overall, a much better choice than the 4-star hotels around Stureplan.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParisEric_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Welcome back to Mornington Hotel!
Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nice,centrally located hotel
This hotel has three important advantages, and one disadvantage. First the positive aspects: (1) it is located right in the center of Stockholm in a very nice and not too busy neighborhood; (2) I have stayed in the hotel several times and the front desk staff have always been really nice and helpful; (3) the rooms are also nice (but rather small). They are equipped with everything you need, including a pot to make coffee or tea with and a sofa. The only negative aspect is the breakfast. It is included in the price which is good, and there are a lot of dishes, but nothing that makes having breakfast here special. Everything is rather basic and unexciting. I would much prefer less dishes and really nice fruit, cold cuts that are special, freshly made orange juice, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are constantly working on improving our guest service and your comments are very important for us. The breakfast is an important part of a hotel stay. We try our best to have as much as possible homemade and with a high quality.

We hope to see you soon again.
Welcome back!

Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

At first you think that this is a private house, with lots of books on the book shelves. Before I stepped in, I went back, checking whether I was at the right place. They got a private collection, I think, lots of common literature, but then also classical stuff. The whole lobby looks like a private library.
Rooms are a bit small, but nice, comfortable, with a good bed, nice bathroom, easy access to wifi (via voucher). Breakfast is great, much too much. I had expected more nordic stuff, more fish, but that's not the case. No fish. Strange. Just a standard, though fabulous breakfast buffet. Room very warm and comfortable (I was there in March). Staff very nice.

Located in the heart of the city, with lots of restaurants and interesting places near-by. Walked from the train station to hotel, ca. 20 minutes.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hforsberg, Revenue Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you for your nice words and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Our owners have a great interest in books and all of our more than 4000 books have been handpicked. We also have a librarian that comes once every week to take care of the books both in the lobby and all of our guestrooms.
The breakfast is an important feature when you stay in a hotel and we try to have a great variety to meet as many wishes as possible. All of our jam, müsli and pancakes are homemade, the juices are freshly squeezed and you should also find a few different herring dishes.

Thank you again for your kind words and I hope we will see you again.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Knowing how expensive Stockholm can be, we wanted to stay somewhere that included breakfast in the room rate. The Mornington does and what a breakfast it is: huge buffet with a really wide choice of great food. The staff in the restaurant and at the front desk were charming and very helpful. Walking through the door each day was like coming home: comfy chairs, inviting atmosphere. Location-wise, the Tunnelbana stop is 2 mins away, providing easy access to all the key attractions. Free wifi topped it all off!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hforsberg, Revenue Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay. This is much appreciated and I am delited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm really glad too hear that all the things that we work hard to bring out acctually get out to you as guests.
I hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Mornington is well situated in the heart of Stockholm. It is a good hotel, clean and functional.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bavaria34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are glad you like our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again. Welcome back!

Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,464 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#50 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $108 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing