We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but could be much better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Ranked #59 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
257 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great location but could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

The Elite Stockholm Plaza is really located in the city centre. It is a perfect location for anyone who wish to be close to restaurants, night life and also some of the sights of Stockholm.

The hotel has a very nice exterior and lobby but the rest of the hotel does not really meet the same standard. The lifts are tiny and the corridors are long but I would assume that some it is because the hotel is in an old building.

The rooms are small, but that is often fairly standard in Stockholm (as well as other European cities). There was room for a double bed, a very small desk and two chairs. They also managed to fit an ironing board into the wardrobe so the space was used in an efficient manner. The room and furniture felt a bit on the old side but still functional and most importantly it felt clean. The bathroom was also small but they managed to squeeze in a bathtub.

I had a good sleep 3 out of 4 nights at this hotel. Normally I am not bothered by noise but on the night between Saturday and Sunday there was a lot of noise from the bar/restaurant at the ground level so it was a bit difficult to sleep.

The breakfast at the hotel was slightly above standard for a Swedish hotel. They could however do with some variety. I stayed for 4 nights and the breakfast was exactly the same every single day -a bit boring. Service was OK, they had some issues with the Internet access codes but it was solved. Could have been quicker from a service perspective but they were always polite and friendly.

Overall a good and solid choice for those who wish to be in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    198
    113
    40
    12
See reviews for
56
123
65
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

Got a good weekend price for central Stockholm & the location is good . However , room was described as 'superior' & was still rather small & dull . Breakfast was rather bland , have had much better at the Elite in Gothenburg for example . Extra pluses was they offerred a late check out & wifi was free & easy to access. All in all , good price & location , but no reason to spend any time actually at the hotel , which is maybe a missed oportunity for them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Elite Hotel Stockholm plaza is a great looking hotel from the outside. Also the public areas are modern and very clean. The room itself wasn't that great but at least it was clean. Bathroom was very outdated, the tiles being maybe from the beginning of 80's. Also the look of the room was a bit 80'ish. But hey, isn't that suppose to be back in style? You also had to keep the curtains over the windows because there was a 24/7 gym right across the street with a direct view to my room.

I only stayed at the hotel for one night and the bed was very comfy. Also the internet connection was free and worked perfectly so I could watch the evening news from back home. It was an old building and the sound proofing was not very good. Therefore you could hear even an conversation from the street (bring earplugs just in case).

Breakfast was ok, but I think I've had better in Sweden. The hotel also lacks a gym so would not be my first choice in the future. Location is excellent being on the Birger Jarlsgatan with good shopping possibilities!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were in the hotel in Aug 2009 for one day and were very dissapointed. When booking we were attracted by the words "superior double room". On arrival it appeared to be a small ordinary double bed. The air conditioning were directed directly on you, so you cannot escape the wind if not turn the device off. There were no central air conditioning system in our room.
The most unpleasant thing was that walls were dirty, the had traces of hand cream spoilled on them. The hotel staff refused to give us another room telling that there were no free. They did not come to clean walls, they did not even say that they appoligise for this, the manager did not call or write (we wrote our comments for him with our contacts) to appologise for this situation. If you could find another hotel, our advice is- find it, we'll never stay in this one again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena-Anton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

This hotel is in the perfect spot for touring the city. It is in the shopping district and a quick walk to the subway. The rooms were very SMALL but once my husband and I figured out oor "flightplan" around the room, it didn't seem so small. The room was very clean even if a bit outdated. Breakfast was great with a nice variety of foods for every taste. I would certainly stay here again just for the location and the price!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie21076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

My room (316) at this hotel was the dirtiest I have encountered at ANY hotel in
Sweden. There was quite a thick layer of dust on everything (desk, top of
mirror, and even the glass shelf in the bathroom). The staff also felt that I
ought to be made aware that the previous guest had brushed his/her teeth as
there were dried droplets of toothpaste/saliva on the mirror. Finally, there
was long brown hair from a previous guest on the spare toilet roll. There was
some attempt, it seems, to remove some dust off the desk (nowhere else), but the spots on the mirror, and the strand of hair remained in place during my entire 3-night stay. (I thought I would wait to see if the cleaning staff noticed but apparently
this is the level of cleanliness that Elite hotels considers acceptable.

On 2 of the 3 mornings I had breakfast at this hotel the availability of food
was MUCH less than I would have expected based on my experience at other hotels
in Stockholm. This is because the staff allow trays to become entirely empty
before replacing them (and that can take up to 10 minutes or more). The
practice at other hotels seems to be to replenish the trays well before they
become empty.

I would strongly urge potential guests to avoid this hotel and choose instead
the Crystal Plaza which is just a few meters away, or the Birger Jarl. Both are
approximately the same price, cleaner rooms, and more efficiently organised breakfasts..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

The reception staff were very friendly and the service in the hotel was of a good standard, but the layout (actually finding your room on getting out of a very slow lift) was not easy - the rooms snake around along long corridors and for some reason they thought it would be artistic to put some orange flowers outside the lift (one per vase).

The room itself was clean, the only minor gripe would be about the lighting. In the bathroom particularly it was extremely awkward to shave with shadows coming at you from different directions. The room I was in had a view of an office block opposite which I'm sure can be a source of entertainment for the workers if the curtains aren't drawn.

It is in a good location however, with a supermarket around the corner, and if you're not one who is staying at the hotel for more than sleeping and the breakfast then it's a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meesterwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Crystal Plaza Hotel
Crystal Plaza Hotel
#70 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#25 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#23 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#73 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza

Property: Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Address: 29 Birger Jarlsgatan | Box 7707, Stockholm 111 45, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing