We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel, but noisy and small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel, but noisy and small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here as a couple in February 2014. The hotel is a charming old house with interesting decor. Service in the hotel was good and breakfast was quite typical, yet tasty. Unfortunately, we were given the room next to the breakfast room, so every morning I would wake up around 6 am when the staff came to work and was unable to sleep in the mornings because of the noise from other guests having breakfast. My partner claims that he was able to sleep well, so I guess this depends..

Also, the bathroom was terribly small and uncomfortable and the bathroom was infested with silverfish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silverfish). Silverfish are harmless, and common in old houses, but disgusting.

Avoid rooms with number 701 to 703, they are in the basement and next to breakfast room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 701-703, they are next to the breakfast room and you will have to wake up around 6 am ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Johanna,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and that you appreciated the atmosphere and our service.

I am sorry to hear that you weren’t able to sleep well due to the near location of the breakfast room. Hotel Hellstens Malmgård is situated in a rebuilt mansion from 1770. It is a remarkable historic building which has been declared a cultural heritage site. Therefore the renovation of this house has been done very carefully. Due to this, the rooms are indeed very different and quite spectacular. Since all of our rooms are unique we do wish for our guests to let us know if they are not happy with the room, and the staff always do their best to change to another one if possible. The rooms you are referring to do however have a nice small patio so they are very popular during summer and for smokers so I think it does depend from person to person what you prefer during the stay.

The lack of service of the cleaning is also not acceptable and actions have been taken to improve this.

Satisfied guests are important for us, and we will use your feedback to improve.
We do hope to see you back here again in the future, so that we will have a second chance to provide you with a wonderful stay!

Best regards
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    256
    76
    16
    8
See reviews for
76
364
31
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel room on the southern outskirts of central Stockholm, the Hellstens Malmgård on Södermalm is an excellent choice. The hotel is located in an old 18th century manor house – and even as a modern hotel the building still has a lot of old age charm with wooden floors, timeworn stone staircases and antique furniture in the hallways.
Our room was small with very little floor space – but the windowsills are wide enough to hold even a larger suitcase. The bathroom is nice and has everything you need. The room has a flat screen tv – and the free wifi functions without problems everywhere on the premises. It even logs you on automatically every time you return to the hotel.
Breakfast is included with the price and is served in the brick vault located in the basement of the main building. Besides coffee or tea the buffet offers fresh bread, soft-boiled eggs and cheese, ham, marmalade and fruit. The location of the hotel on a quiet side street is perfect, only a five minute walk from the Zinkensdamm subway station.
I made the reservation through booking.com a couple of months in advance of our four days stay over the Christmas holidays and paid only SEK 750 per night. Compared to Stockholm standards this is a very good price – and excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niels-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this great hotel. Our room was very well equipped with anything we could need - comfy bed, desk, TV, very modern bright and clean bathroom. The location is fabulous, just around the corner (5 min walk) to the metro station and only 4-5 stops from the main train station. We didn't explore the neighborhood much, but it appeared that there were plenty of restaurants and a couple grocery stores close by to stock up on essential travel items. The hotel staff were quite friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful, and the hotel was extremely charming and quiet. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeAreCityHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Ägare at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear WeAreCityHoppers,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, what a lovely one to receive!
I am so glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our convenient location, unique rooms, good breakfast and helpful staff.
I am happy to hear that you discovered what a fun and beautiful part of the city Södermalm is!
To have the subway so near us is a privilege since the metro system in Stockholm is an easy way to get around and I am glad that also you felt so.

You are always welcome to stay with us again the next time you are in Stockholm.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid-December. The Hotel is in a good location only a couple of minutes walk from the T-bana (which talks you to central Stockholm/ the Gamla Stan in just 6 minutes) but on a really quite street and with lots of good local cafes and restaurants not too far away. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Like most Swedes they speak perfect English. The basement breakfast room is small and did get congested at the busiest times. Breakfast is a cold buffet but there plenty on offer from cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese, bread and pastries etc with as much tea and coffee as you want. We had a small double room in the attic. It was very small but nicely decorated and furnished, with just about everything you need for a short stay, although we did have to slide our case under the bed and use it like a drawer as there are no shelves/drawers in the room . The shower room was a good size and bright with modern fittings. The bed and duvet were incredibly comfy and cosy. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but there is free tea and coffee available 24 hours from reception. No fresh milk is provided (just lemon or honey) but there is a Co-op next to the T-bana station where you can pick up mill. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovallstrand Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great place, beautiful historicalhouse and rooms, clean and well equiped and with very nice staff but a bit basic breakfast (good enough but not that extra) We will rekomend and be back next time when in Stockholm. The area, Södermalm, where the hotel is situated is very stimulating and worth exploring!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel looks like it's somewhere in the countryside, but it's in the middle of the city, walking distance or couple of metrostops from the city. It's like a fresh breezen in the middle of the ordinary hotel chains.

The staff is extremely friendly and nice in this small hotel. The rooms are small, but nice and clean. If you are staying longer, there might be a little problem with your clothes as there are no real closet for them. Bathroom was huge, but you are bound to wet it all over when you take shower.

Breakfast was ordinary, but the chairs and tables in the breaksfast room are too big. It makes it very diffucult to move there when it is the busiest breakfast time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlliHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I went in Stockholm from oct 31st to nov 3rd and i stayed in the Hellstens Malmgard Hotel. It was a wonderful vacation. The hotel is very clean, breakfast is very abundant and the concierge is very nice and polite. I booked a small double room...and it was very small but well organized. As you can see in the photos the room and the bathroom are new and of good taste. I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_BL_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#40 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#25 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hellstens Malmgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellstens Malmgard

Property: Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Address: 110 Braennkyrkagatan, Stockholm 117 26, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hellstens Malmgard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 49 rooms in a building from 1770, breakfast room in a brick vault in the basement, and some public rooms on the first floor, this leaves a hotel experience that is unique to Stockholm and perhaps the world. Here you can stay, gather and experience Stockholm at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hellstens Malmgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing