We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Ranked #18 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

nice small hotel in the middle of södermalm, friendly and helpful stuff, good breakfast, had one of the smaller rooms for a special price -> for a few days ok, but I wouldn´t recommend it for longer stays, the bathroom was modern and clean, the bed was a bit to small, easy to reach by public transport

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Christin,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review about your stay, we appreciate to get feedback from our guests.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the friendly staff, good breakfast and modern bathroom.
You are always welcome to stay with us again the next time you are in Stockholm.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    270
    78
    16
    9
See reviews for
76
383
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hellstens Malmgård - 18th century building, stylishly renovated and furnished with antique furniture, antique household items. Meets the stated 3 *. The hotel is located in the district of Södermalm. There are good free Wi-Fi. The nearest metro station Zinkensdamm - 10 minutes on the road and you are in the old quarter of Stockholm's Old Town. But if you like walking, it's nice to walk along the streets or on the waterfront, across the bridge, and also to be in the Old City.
Our two rooms were small but cozy. Especially we liked the panoramic glass door, window, overlooking the quiet courtyard. There, my daughter and I were building a snowman! Bathroom combined (shower + wc). For breakfast - a buffet in the dining room, converted from the former cellar with brick vaulted ceiling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've just returned to the UK after spending two nights at this rather unique hotel, wishing it had been longer. The building is very attractive and so different from the usual standard accommodation on offer in Stockholm that it feels immediately welcoming, and stepping out into the courtyard with it's fine central tree is so much better than exiting onto a street. We stayed in the recently refurbished north wing which has been decorated in a sympathetic way but with a quirky twist like the rest of the hotel. The room was warm ( in a very cold snap ) and comfortable with quite a lot of space available, but I believe all the rooms differ in this respect, so if you want space you need to ask for it when you book. The breakfast, served in the cellar in winter, was good and plentiful. I would imagine that the summer outdoor service would be a treat. The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times. The location is very good with a metro nearby ( I would recommend the day pass as good value ) and restaurants of a wide variety of price and type within a short walk.
Prices I suppose vary but I would say that we paid about a third less than for equivalent but less interesting and satisfactory hotels in Stockholm. we had thought we wouldn't be returning to Sweden but now quite like the thought of a summer visit to this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algreco55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Algreco55,

Thank you for writing this review, what a nice one to receive!

I am so glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our convenient location, unique rooms, good breakfast and helpful staff.
Stockholm and Hellstens Malmgård is indeed lovely in summer, I am sure that you would like it. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to us again!

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed over New Year's at the hotel. The rooms are very unique and cozy, I only found them a bit cold. I slept great in the bed. The hotel staff was very friendly and the breakfast was ok. The hotel is located in Soendermalm, with shops and restaurants in walking distance. There's also a metro very close by and in a couple of stops you are in the center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bi_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel at an old building. Price is reasonable, breakfast is good and room comfortable. Hotel has a good location at Södermalm, a lot of restaurants and shops within a walking distance. Closest metro station about 400 m.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olmi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall a nice little hotel.

We were staying as we were exhibiting at an event at the nearby Munchenbrygget conference centre.

Pros

Smart Rooms,
Flat Screen TV (TV channels show US shows in English with Subtitles so you can still watch them)
Great Breakfast Servery
Secure
Helpful Staff
Some restaurants not too far away
close to metro
great price

Cons
Not as clean as It could be
Taps are sensored so only flow when your hands are under them (which is a pian when shaving or brushing teeth)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grazzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent about a week in a tiny tiny room on the last floor, beneath the roof. Although we barely had space for our luggage, we loved it! The bed was excellent, we had a little circular window in front of which there was a little desk with an old typewriter, that and the wooden beams gave real charm to the room. It was ok for a short stay with a small suitcase, but if you come with bulky luggage, you might want to make sure to get a larger room, as I heard the size of the rooms are very variable, given the building is an old renovated mansion.
The breakfast is also worth mentioning, lots of variety and everything tastes good and healthy. I was looking forward to it every morning!
The hotel is conveniently located near a T-bana station so you can get to the center of Stockholm really fast, or go on foot and enjoy the view from Söder Mälarstrand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halffilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,928 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,590 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,178 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hellstens Malmgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellstens Malmgard

Property: Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Address: 110 Braennkyrkagatan, Stockholm 117 26, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hellstens Malmgard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 49 rooms in a building from 1770, breakfast room in a brick vault in the basement, and some public rooms on the first floor, this leaves a hotel experience that is unique to Stockholm and perhaps the world. Here you can stay, gather and experience Stockholm at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hellstens Malmgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing