We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedish fast food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nystekt Stromming

Nystekt Stromming
Ranked #128 of 3,026 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Slussen
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
181 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Swedish fast food”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wow.

I loved my experience here.

The kiosk is outside the Sodermalm station in the square and about 200 meters from the Hilton.

This was the number one thing that i wanted to eat while i was in sweden and i was not disapointed.

I walked straight up to the counter, was pleased to be able to explain in english exactly what i wanted.

I had fresh fried herring in a roll with mustard sauce. Totally amazing.

I went back the following evening but it had closed.

100% the best thing I ate in sweden. Like the best ever fishfinger sandwich you could ever have.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    73
    26
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When in Stockholm, try strömming!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is just the perfect lunch when you're on the run. The dish itself is a miniature of Swedish tastes, if you ask for extra lingonberries in your roll, and you should! Speedy service and a mixed crowd very close to the subway and at the gateway to Södermalm, a great pit stop any day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnteRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Most Delicious Fried Fish I've Ever Eat”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The meal fresh fried herring with mash potatoes and crispy bread with cucumber and fresh garlic unite in one dish become a very delicious meal ... It's healthy, cheap, of course delicious ... I would like to build a restaurant with this recipe as the main course in my country ... I can't wait too long to come back soon to Slussen ....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridzal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Authentic Swedish street-food”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Following up a recommendation in the Time Out guidebook, I tracked down this stromming (herring) stall - the only one of its kind that I found in Stockholm - and was extraordinarily glad that I did. I enjoyed a wondrously tasty snack lunch of skoning (grilled herring on rye bread, with mustard sauce, raw onion and dill), and went back for a second meal there later during my visit. The stall is located opposite the main (upper) entrance of Slussen metro station. Don't miss it if you visit Stockholm!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bucksbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you like strömming (Baltic herring) as much as we do, you have to go to Slussen (south across the water from old town, Gamla Stan). This "restaurant" is a kiosk with outside seating and great value on strömming. (This is not to be confused with the adjacent sit-down restaurant.) We go to Stockholm every summer, and this is a must-do for us. We order the fish platter, which comes with mashed potatoes and three sides (choices of pickled cucumbers, onions, carrots, lingonberries, mustard sauce, etc.). Very popular with locals at lunch, so we always time our vista before or after the rush.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nystekt Stromming also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Nystekt Stromming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing