We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stockholm Syndrom!”

Free Tour Stockholm
Ranked #1 of 84 Tours in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Want to try something that's interesting, fun and costs absolutely nothing? Take a free guided tour of Stockholm! The Old Town tour and the City tour both start at Sergels Torg, and the Söder tour starts at Slussen. All tours take approximately 90 minutes, and if you liked the tour, you may tip your guide. That's it! The guides live off tips, so this is the best tour in Stockholm - if it weren't they wouldn't get paid! That's why they're funny, energetic, and love to help you as much as they can. Take a free tour this week!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Stockholm Syndrom!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a great tour. Super informative and very educational. We would highly recommend.

Do you know the story behind the Stockholm Syndrome? Well, we do now!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    209
    46
    20
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent free tour”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The tours are offered as a City tour and a Tour of the old town. I did both the tours, they were well organised, easy to find in the main square (at the top of the stairs - see the website for instructions). The tour guides were both very knowledgeable and spoke English very well. Despite slightly frosty conditions, the tour was entertaining and highly recommended. As the name suggests it is a free tour, however as the guides are not paid for their time and tip is recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Stockholm”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I am traveling with my wife and father-in-law through a Scandavian adventure and we chose to try the Free Tour of Stockholm based upon the adivce on Trip Advisor and were certainly grateful for the advice. We started with the morning tour with Jennifer, who was giving her first tour, and made our way through the highlights of Stockholm while making a few jokes as we went through town. We all enjoyed this enough to take the Old Town tour with Jessica later that night and were certainly entertained and educated. Having a guide through the maze of the old town and being told the history of Stockholm has certainly been a great experience, which I would highly recommend.

Helpful?
4 Thank Chance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Engaging- passionate tour guides!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We took the City tour and the Old town tour and our guides were Pradeep and Annalie respectively.
They were both so passionate about their city and its history and had different styles/ formats of the tour so it was engaging both times!
This was the first city we did a free tour in so it set the bar pretty high, but I would reccommend free tours wherever you are. They're a great concept (tip only system), but if you get cold easily- beware! You walk for about 2 minutes and then stop for about 10 minutes so by the end of it we were pretty cold :(

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank genhoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Free tour”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a fabulous tour with very knowledgeable tour guides. Took us to places we would not have gone. We went on the day tour around the newer part of the city and the evening tour around Gamle Stan. recommend both highly

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea90401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Tour Stockholm also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Free Tour Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing