We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and amazing food”

Griffins Steakhouse
Ranked #49 of 3,027 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $77
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, European, Contemporary, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: Prepare yourself for a dining experience beyond the ordinary! The peculiar host couple Griffins, with a faiblesse for both the good in life and for the unexplainable, has given room for the Griffins' Steakhouse Extraordinaire, a restaurant in the Waterfront building in central Stockholm. A generous steakhouse has been created in an imaginative, magical and vibrant restaurant with real 1920's salon feel. With a menu composed by Swedish masterchefs Christian Hellberg and Karl Ljung, which is offering everything from seafood plateaus and 350 grams of steaks to variations of classic Swedish and European dishes such as Shrimp cocktail, Banana split and lamb hotdog. Griffin's steakhouse also serve the entire menu in the bar which is said to be Stockholm's longest. There you can also enjoy well composed cocktails that are inspired of the classic American cocktail tradition.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
294 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were a group of 12 to visit Griffins for NYE, the decor is very nice and the atmosphere is to match. The food was well presented, great tasting and all was delivered with great service. The wine menu is very vast and the server was able to recommend some fantastic options. It was a very enjoyable evening with good food, good drinks and good service. Will be coming back here on my next visit to Stockholm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    270
    81
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great choice for any taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to this restaurant mainly because it was just 100m from our amazing hotel (Radisson Blu Waterfront).
We were nicely surprised with the great choice it offered.
It is called Steakhouse, but you can chose so many things for non-meat eaters like me.
Lobster hamburger was just divine, lobster soupe too (well, a bit salty, but very tasty).
My mother took a grilled lobster that was one of the best she has ever eaten.
The service and the place itself are nice, too!
Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EVGI57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We are steak lovers and had an Inkling that the Griffins would be the place... Service was informative and enthusiastic, the starter (oysters and steak tartare) were absolutely perfect served with chilled champagne.... Wow. But the main dish, ribeye and lamb was absolutely amazing, perfectly cooked, very tender and with an absolutely fantastic flavour. (We skipped the glazing on the ribeye which was a good choice). They recommended a Zin for the meat and it was a perfect match. We will be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglishlassStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food in cool atmosphere near Stockholm main station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Conveniently located just next to the main station, this is a really recommended steakhouse. I was there alone on a business trip and had no reservation. I had to wait for a table, but was offered a comfy seat at the bar where I was professionally advised about their selection of Indian Pale Ales - great! Later on I got a table near the window and enjoyed an excellently cooked veal steak. The restaurant was full with quite pleasant people; it features a cool, amicable atmosphere, free WiFi and there was a DJ playing old funky stuff from vinyl. This was contributing a lot to the cool vibes, without being pretentious or overly loud - well done!
Overall an exceptionally good experience, even if visiting alone!
Prices are quite high - the food being quite acceptable for the area, but a glass of wine can be ridiculously expensive.

Some spices and olive oil are served with the bread - they're in glass test tubes as used in chemical labs - cool!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Laboratory themed steakhouse?! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I visited this steakhouse during my first visit to Stockholm. They have laboratory glassware on the table and for serving wine. Very interesting..
The steak was delicious and the sides were too! We had coffee and truffle to finish. Simply divine.

Helpful?
Thank Adya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffins Steakhouse also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Griffins Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing