We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central hotel, ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central by Scandic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Central by Scandic
Ranked #46 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Göteborg
Level Contributor
443 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good central hotel, ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Scandic Grand Central in May 2014 for one night.

The hotel is located a short 10-minute-walk from the train station, making it very convenient if you arrive by train or the Arlanda express.

Check in was quick and friendly. The lobby is large and houses a restaurant and bar.

The room 5120 was on the top floor, facing the inner courtyard. This meant a very quiet night.
Being on the top floor, the ceiling is slightly higher than usual, which gives a sense of space in an otherwise small room. Large windows further increased that feeling.

Apart from the comfy double bed, there was enough space for a desk and a couple of cupboards. As in any Scandic, you have to go buy coffee or tea in the lobby, since there is no water boiler (or mini bar) in the room.

The bathroom, although small, was fresh and bright. Quality soap and shower gel were a good bonus.

The breakfast room can be busy, but the selection and quality more than made up for it. Anyone could find their preferences.
The hotel can be rather pricey. If you can find a special rate, I warmly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi BillGWB,
Thank you for your great feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed your room and Scandic Grand Central’s convenient location in the heart of Stockholm. We offer coffee/tea making facilities and minibar in every roomcategory except standard and cabin. While I was so pleased to hear about your enjoyment of the property's location, ambiance and room I am sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. During weekends and holidays a lot of our guest enjoys breakfast the same time. We are aware of this problem and are thinking about ways to make it feel less crowded for our guests. Thank you once again for taking the time reaching out to us. We look forward to welcome you back again.
All the best,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    739
    258
    78
    43
See reviews for
195
519
99
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
210 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I booked this hotel due to the location (central) so the price was acceptable as I was expecting a normal room. When I arrived the lady at the reception informed me that my room was underground without windows (no joke). It took me a while to find it and the room was small but ok, a large broom closet, underground. Odd. from that perspective not cheap. Breakfast was good but I picked the wrong time, busy.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not underground if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi there Matthijs2517,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your honest and balanced review as we are always looking to improve your experience for future. Our rooms without windows are from the roomcategory cabin and the price varies depending on occupancy and demand.
sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. During weekends and holidays a lot of our guest enjoys breakfast the same time. We are aware of this problem and are thinking about ways to make it feel less crowded for our guests. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly prior to your next arrival, so that we can ensure your stay will be as wonderful as it should be. We hope we can welcome you back. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

All the best,
Azize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The location of the hotel is good in the city centre, within easy walking distance from the major shopping streets and easily accessible from the railway station. My only complaint is that the rooms are very small. The room and the bed were comfortable, however, and there was no disturbing noise whatsoever. I'd particularily like to praise the Teaterbrasseriet restaurant (beside the ground floor bar). The food was tasty, wines were interesting and the personnel worth tipping (which I had never done in a Scandic hotel before).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hannu- thank you for your wonderful review of Scandic Grand Central! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit at restaurant Teaterbrasserit and it was truly our pleasure to have you with us - our team looks forward to welcoming you back to the Stockholm soon! If you plan to visit us again, which we really hope, please check with my colleagues at the front desk and they would gladly, if possible, move you to another room.Thank you once again for your great feedback!
All the best,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great location, great free breakfast that outdoes the usual breakfast offered at other hotels. Our room at the Scandic Grand Central was nice and the bed was comfortable. The concierge service was outstanding. They went over and above the usual and were very helpful. The hotel is located a block away from the express train to the airport - the Arlanda Express. We enjoyed our stay in Stockholm and at the Scandic Grand Central Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Constance! Thank you for your amazing review and we have since gladly shared your feedback with our entire team as they truly inspire us to continue personalizing each and every guest stay. It was absolutely our pleasure to have you with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Stockholm.

All the best,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have stayed several times at the Scandic in different rooms, last time this Easter. For me its one of the best hotels in Stockholm.
If you fly in, its perfectly located: take the bus or the Arlanda Express and its right there. You can meet up with friends and enjoy the club, the bar, most of the times they have life music. The rooms are very different, in general I would recommend not to go for the smallest and cheapest alternative. And the junior suites "the leaf rooms" are really fantastic!
Breakfast is good (nothing very special), the gym is small (so not really recommended). Since Stockholm can be very expensive you get good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inner yard are best. Do not got for the cheapest and smallest rooms, since they are rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi german2,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us and for the five stars!
We couldn’t agree more with you about Scandic Grand Central's location; it is certainly one of the best aspects of our property!
Happy to read that you enjoyed the bars and our live concerts. Scandic Grand Central is definitely a high energy environment with three cocktailbars, dj’s and live concerts, conveniently located in the heart of the Stockholm, where all the excitement occurs.
We appreciate your feedback and all the staff of Scandic Grand Central is looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
All the best.
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend. The hotel is very well located with regards to communication, restaurants and shopping.
The room was very nice. It was big, clean and pleasant. The staff was also very friendly, and last, but not least, the breakfast was excellent. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smuari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I wanted to stay near Central station and chose this hotel for location and it was not too expensive. I really appreciated the service here they were so kind and helpful. I arrived early morning so they let me store bags until check in at 2pm. The rooms was small but had everything you need and a great bathroom. Nice soaps and shampoos etc.
Breakfast was so good and plentiful. I would eat here every day. I loved it.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#16 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#49 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Adlon
Elite Hotel Adlon
#53 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central by Scandic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central by Scandic

Property: Grand Central by Scandic
Address: 70 Kungsgatan, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central by Scandic 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Central by Scandic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Central Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing