We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy accommodation, very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central by Scandic
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This stylish hotel spared no expense on luxury.

Although I arrived to learn my room was initially unavailable, the concierge redeemed the hotel by upgrading me to a corner suite. The room was more than I could ever need for a two-night stay: massive living room with television, dining table and space for a small village; two bathrooms including an en-suite; a king-sized bedroom with a heavenly mattress; and—my personal favourite—a retro record player with several classic composers and artists. Contemporary pictures of hipsters highlighted by modern lighted really livened up the mood.

Really great location, being right next to the train station, it was also within walking distance of the business district and water front.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afnowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
There are newer reviews for Grand Central by Scandic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a very nice Scandic hotel. The lobby is nicely decorated with a lot of places to sit down although it isn't that big.
The rooms are very modern and fresh but they are very small. This wasn't a problem for me since I spent one night alone but it's of course always nicer with some space...

The breakfast was OK but not more than that. The variety was not that big but on the other hand good enough to avoid leaving hungry.
The staff were OK but it wouldn't hurt to get a smile or something similar...

Overall I think that this is a good hotel but the price (I paid 1700 SEK for a weekday) is far to high considering what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We got there 5 minutes past check in time and were asked to upgrade (for a fee) to receive a room immediately. Needless to say we opted to wait, but they should've offered a free upgrade in a situation like this. No Scandic frequent visitor benefits were offered and the reception staff was in general unpolite and in a constant hurry.

Basement room was clean and comfortable, with a nice toilet/shower. However a/c kept on switching on/off all night, making a very distracting clicking noise. Be sure to bring earplugs for a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was really busy around 10 on saturday, but before and after that there was plenty of space.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky1hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed two nights on a business trip. The location turned out to be excellent: Arlanda Express train exit is just 100 meters away and WTC entrance is next to train platform entrance, across the street.

My room was small, windowless cabin. Sounds bad, but it was actually great! I did not wake up to sunrise, room was quiet. The room has all that I needed: bed, wifi, tv, toilet with shower and plenty of electric outlets. What else can a business traveler expect. Room decoration was simple but pleasant.

Hotel has nice restaurant and I had there a simple but delicious meal.

Breakfast had lot of choices and also healthy food was available (muesli, yoghurt).

I will be back to this hotel. I have nothing to complain.

Room Tip: Consider "cabin" if you are traveling alone. There are no windows, but that actually impro...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Scandic Grand Central is located right next to the central station so is easy to find and within easy walking distance of the old town. It is huge with circa 600 rooms and excellent breakfast and bar service. The meeting rooms are also very well organized and run as I attended a meeting. Food was excellent and beer very good too and all of the staff had a smile. Excellent stay!!

Room Tip: I was on the second floor with a street view and it was very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Do not stay in the rooms facing the street (odd numbers). Rather, you must request a room facing the inner courtyard with the even numbers. Outrageously, these rooms cost the same price. But when I saw the door open to the room across the hall I saw that they are much better than mine facing the street. This is because the street-facing rooms DO NOT HAVE A CLOSET but only a short bar on the wall with four hangers. And there is only 14 inches of space between the end of the bed and the wall. In contrast, the rooms facing the inner courtyard have a closet and plenty of room between the foot of the bed and the wall. Also, the bathrooms, though stylish, are very tight (but adequate). I realize that Stockholm is expensive, but surely there should be a difference in price between these two kinds of rooms and there is not. I suspect the square footage is the same but the bad room are horizontal i layout and the good rooms are long. But the odd-numbered rooms are truly uncomfortable and it would be impossible for a couple to stay in these odd-numbered rooms. Note, too, that there is no coffee-pot/tea kettle in room and no room mini-fridge. But it's the configuration of the off-numbered street-facing room that is truly unacceptable. Also, they might have chosen white for the wall color, rather than depressing grey. Yet the hotel otherwise is very nice. Terrific breakfasts. Great location near the metro. Staff is okay. Wi-fi is free and good. But if you make a reservation here you must insist on the inner courtyard-facing rooms, or else demand a discount.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the inner courtyard. Do not accept a street-facing room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Upon arrival I found the staff not as welcoming as other Stockholm hotels. But I really liked the theatre theme. The bar was really popular with locals.It was very busy and friendly but the music was very loud, so we couldn't hear ourselves speak. The room was really lovely, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit hectic but good.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,307 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,596 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Adlon
Elite Hotel Adlon
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
1,073 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central by Scandic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central by Scandic

Address: 70 Kungsgatan, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $158 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central by Scandic 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central by Scandic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Central Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing