We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central by Scandic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Central by Scandic
Ranked #47 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Scandic Grand Central is the hotel to stay whilst visiting the Town! Should you come by any public transportation the location is perfect! Max 300m to any main station.
The casino and Oscars theatre are next door; as well as the Top Notch kitchen equipment store Cordon-Bleu. Kungsgatan, Hötorget, Drottninggatan as well, no buss or metro rides needed!
The atmosphere at this Scandic was different that I´m used to. The "old times" theme was well followed from the nice lobby area to elevator areas, restaurant and rooms.
The room that we had was quite small but extremely cosy and fresh.
Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesa_Paldanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    739
    258
    78
    43
See reviews for
194
518
99
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Let's start on a positive note, the location is great. On the negative side, the list is long, very long. The rooms are minuscule and not really geared for any traveller carrying more than a small handbag. The interior is grim and dark. The bed is reasonably comfortable, but the pillows are simply gross. The breakfast is a havoc, although we tried to go both early and late to find some peace and quiet. I have never seen a more dysfunctional breakfast restaurant, and I have stayed in a fair number of hotels. If you are lucky enough to eventually get some food or drinks for breakfast, the quality is appallingly bad for a four-star hotel. The staff overall, particularly those in the restaurant, should get some adequate training, so they know how to run a restaurant and interact with customers in a professional way. In summary, we are back to the Radisson again next time when we plan a trip to Stockholm. I would not even send my worst enemy to the Grand Central!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xp01321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicGC S, General Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear xp01321,
Thank you for your honest and balanced feedback. I cannot begin to describe my disappointment when reading your review about your latest experience at Scandic Grand Central Please accept my sincere apologies. We truly appreciate your candor and rest assured we have since addressed all your comments. Should you return to the Stockholom in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us prior to your arrival - we will of course ensure you have a great experience with us. Again, thank you for your feedback, and I hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
Lars Sandberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for one night only on business so didn't get to see the hotel much. Location is very central which is a great plus. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good. Only minus was that at least on the second floor the sounds from other rooms were surprisingly clear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
355 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very central location, right next to the central station which is perfect for those who use the airport. The hotel is very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The bar is very nice at weekends with live music. recommend =))

The breakfast is good although it was nice to have a wider variety of fruit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights on a tour. Rooms have great amenities free wifi, flat screen TV, safe. Comfortable bed great shower and bath setup. Central location. Others have commented on room size, small but would say about average by European standards and tiny by American. Worked OK for a 2 night stay but our room on level 2 did not have a closet so it would not have been suitable for a longer stay. Can't comment on the price because it was included in the tour package. Breakfast buffet was fabulous and available from 6:30 to 10. Overall quite nice. Add a decent sized closet and I would add a star.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for couple nights on a business trip. Hotel was new and because of that very clean. Excellent location. Good breakfast. Free wife available everywhere. No minibar in the room. Avoid -1 floor due to the street noise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Expensive hotel overpriced for the size of rooms. The room I had was on the top floor, was tiny but functional and modern.
Cleanliness was good as was the breakfast, typical for Sweden.
Would I stay here again, probably not since I believe the price was too high.
The location was good quite close to the main train station.
I was in a business trip and arrived 2:00 am and left at 07:00 am so location to station was important.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#49 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#15 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Adlon
Elite Hotel Adlon
#53 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central by Scandic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central by Scandic

Property: Grand Central by Scandic
Address: 70 Kungsgatan, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central by Scandic 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central by Scandic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Central Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing