We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Skansen
from $230.47
More Info
from $108.30
More Info
Reviews (11,123)
Filter reviews
11,123 results
Traveler rating
5,845
3,374
1,344
388
172
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,845
3,374
1,344
388
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open air museum nordic animals visiting stockholm zoo bears sweden enclosures attractions actors centuries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 11,123 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

We had visited the open air folk museum in Oslo and had such a great experience that we were excited to see Skansen. Such a disappointment. Lots of food and drink to buy, but 75% of the buildings were still closed and even the animals weren't ready for viewing. There was a huge red crane taking branches out of one of the viewing areas in the Nordic animal enclosure, bags of debris and downed trees lying around, and a huge pile of gravel to be used in some sort of work project in the middle of a rather large pathway.

There was no indication that the park was not in any way ready for visitors when we paid for our admission. There are too many other things to see and do in Stockholm. Spend more time at the Vasa Museum or even the ABBA Museum, but take a pass on Skansen.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Boomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

The concept behind this museum is amazing. It’s an open air museum depicting life in Sweden over centuries. There are homes, animals, fauna, community centres, schools, parks and a whole lot of things brought here from all over Sweden from different time periods and put together to give us an idea how how people lived in the country. It’s fascinating and very well executed. Don’t miss it.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank mugglesneha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed strolling around the park, very scenic and interesting. Good zoo area and lots of old buildings well presented.Aloos plenty of time . Good refreshments on site. Maybe half a day after morning visit to nearby Vasa Museum. Number 7 tram stops outside

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

Great place for all ages, plenty to do and see, you need at least 3hrs is more. Loads of stalls, snack places etc

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Barnsbury123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

I visited Skansen on Easter Sunday. I was worried it would be packed with families as the two days prior while passing I saw very long lines. Fortunately it wasn't the case this day as we queued up first thing in the morning (9:50 AM with opening time at 10:00 AM). The 7 tram line easily drops you off right in front of the entrance (Skansen stop). For people holding the Stockholm Pass, the entrance is at the very left or supposedly any other counter, it wasn't really clear and perhaps it should be posted somewhere more clearly. The park was amazing. Of course it's not possible to see all the animals at all times: we saw most farm animals, and other wild animals taking a snooze or eating such as boars, bears, and an otter. More elusive animals like wolves and wolverines are not easy to spot in the very large habitats. The recreated villages with people in costume were fantastic. You are welcome to ask questions and the re-enactors are very knowledgeable. We stopped for a snack at one of the many available cafes. Amenities are also easy to find such as toilets, ramps, etc.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank HelenRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews