We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a Beautiful Day”

Skansen Open-Air Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.20*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Boat Ticket in Stockholm
Ranked #7 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Skansen is the world's first open-air museum, founded in 1891. Here you can stroll through five centuries of Swedish history, from north to south, with a real sense of the past all around the historical buildings and dwellings, peopled by characters in period dress. Living history over 150 dwellings and other buildings from all over Sweden have been dismantled and reassembled in an area of 300 000 m2 at Skansen. You can travel back in time and meet people from the past. On summer evenings you can also come along and watch traditional Swedish folk dancing! Skansen Zoo at Skansen you will find both domestic and wild Nordic animals such as bears, wolves and lynx. Don't miss our guided tours in English during the summer and in December. Our newly-opened Children's Zoo gives youngsters the opportunity to meet a variety of interesting animals.Added attractions Skansen hold a traditional celebrations to mark occasions such as Walpurg is Night, Midsummer and Christmas. Enjoy a delicious meal in one of the restaurants with breathtaking views over Stockholm. And don't miss our Museum shop, selling traditional handicrafts and Swedish design products.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for a Beautiful Day”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This outdoor air museum was really the perfect activity for a beautiful day. A lot of people walking around, but it wasn't ever too crowded as it's such a large area. The zoo and farmland areas were really nice too. We loved that a lot of Swedish families were walking around too, so it didn't feel like we were in a tourist trap (though the tourists were definitely present too). Just a really nice, relaxing walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,970
    2,297
    884
    242
    89
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great day out for anyone!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I went here with my wife and spent the day wandering around the various old fashioned houses and farms etc. There are also lots of Swedish anials to have a look at too.

When we visited the bear enclosure also contained three playful cubs!

If you're in Stockholm for a couple of days Skansen is a must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanJRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Have GPS, or a compass”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a compromise rating. I liked the park a lot more than my spouse. The one thing we did agree on is that signage is poor and it is easy to get lost. Since we had different interests we explored separately and agreed to meet back at the starting point which turned out to be more difficult than we had anticipated. The place is a maze but since it's on a hill at least you know to go down to get out. I liked the presentation of different aspects of Swedish life in the past. I particularly liked the 1930's hardware store with all of the items from that period looking bright and new. With all of the animals this is a good place to take the kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am a little surprised to read the "poor" reviews of this museum. When I originally read the description of this place it sounded a little dull to me and I didn't have very high expectations. But it was one of my favorite things in Stockholm! Yes it was during the off season so a lot was closed I still had a great time. Such a wide variety of animals, and they all had nice enclosures without there being too many animals to each one. Since there weren't many guests there I was able to just sit and watch the animals for as long as I liked and I didn't have to fight anyone for a view. Considering how expensive everything is in Sweden I have to choose my activities vehicle carefully. I'm so glad this was one of my choices. I could have spent the whole day, especially if everything had been open. Be wary of the squirrels, they are very brave. My coworker and myself each had one climb straight up our legs!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel_work_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots of History”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Skansen is an open air museum that can be reached by one of the numerous ferries. We went after Labor Day so the entire museum was not open; only a select few houses so a little disappointment there. The buildings are authentic and moved over the last 30 years from different parts of Sweden. People are dressed in traditional clothing for the era and tell you how the Swedes lived during the late 1800's and early 1900's. We did get to experience the glass blowing shop, the school teacher's home/school, the farmer's helper's home, and the apothecary. Very few people the day we went. Everything was closed down as far as shops, food, etc. i suggest comfortable shoes and a full day during the summer months to see everything.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Springerlvr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skansen Open-Air Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Skansen Open-Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing