We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time line section”

The Swedish History Museum
Ranked #15 of 310 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Swedish History Museum is one of Sweden's largest museums. Tens of thousands of people come here every year to explore one of the biggest Viking exhibitions in the world, to be amazed by gold and silver treasures in the Gold Room and to marvel at the museum's unique Medieval Art. Free admission Free entry for all visitors.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent time line section”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Loved the 1000 year time line section with exhibits and social commentary combined together. Really well documented and interactive. Also enjoyed the Vikings exhibit - the whole museum is very family-friendly as well with children under 18 going in free.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    303
    101
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“History Lesspn”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

A great place to get away from the tpur groups and get an historical perspective of Sweden. Includes artifacts and political history

Helpful?
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent complement to the Wasa Museum”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were here for about 2.5 hours and had to leave because that was enough for our kids (ages 7 and 10). I would really have liked to have stayed longer and seen other parts of the museum, particularly the wing that deals with after 1700, but they had reached their limit. We focused on the Vikings and the Treasure Chamber in the basement. The Viking Wing is really interesting and paints a thorough and realistic picture of Viking life, not the nonsense that we see on TV and in the movies. There was a reconstruction of Birka that I thought was very interesting, probably because we had a tour guide dressed in the clothing of the times who walked us through the display and took the time to answer all of our questions. This really brought the displays to life. There was a children's hands-on display room which was not that big of a hit -- focused on "pretend" excavations. There was also a Viking Village in the courtyard with viking games and activities which was a bigger hit. The biggest hit, though, was the treasure chamber in the basement which houses all of the gold and silver. It was really neat to descend into the vault and look at these treasures. We ate here as well and found the food to be pleasant, and reasonably priced for Stockholm. All in all, this museum had a fresh and modern feel to it despite the fact that it dealt with history, typically a rather dry subject. We all enjoyed it and would definitely return. Perhaps a good idea to start the day with it, though, if you are coming with your kids.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KGF_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSTON
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Small Museum with a Big Message”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

For anyone interested in Swedish History and/or Vikings, this is a great place to visit. It does not require a lot of walking because of its size. The woman who did the English tour was great!! She had participated in the excavations of the Vikings. She could answer any question and talk about anything displayed in the museum. The museum is located near two of the "Hop On, Hop Off" bus. We got off at one stop and then got the bus at the other side of the museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Meet the vikings!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The kids loved this museum this summer with their "Meet the vikings" exhibition. In the central courtyard they got to make jewellery, bread, and shoot bow and arrow amongst other things. Inside a very nice and knowledgeable man guided us in the exhibition area and managed to make it interesting for the children. Another lady told them some old norse religion stories which they found fascinating. Please note that this is based on the Viking exhibition, without it I have no idea how good the museum is.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swedish History Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to The Swedish History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing