We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely a highlight of our visit to Stockholm!”
Review of Vasa Museum

Vasa Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.99*
and up
Stockholm Super Saver: Stockholm City Walking Tour Including Vasa Museum plus...
Ranked #1 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Vasa ship capsized and sank in Stockholm 1628. After 333 years on the sea bed the mighty warship was salvaged and the voyage could continue. Today Vasa is the world's only preserved 17th century ship and the most visited museum in Scandinavia.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surely a highlight of our visit to Stockholm!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The history was amazing. The museum was amazing. Who knew I would be delighted by a war ship? We walked to the Garden Island from our hotel near Stockholms City Hall and the first thing we did was visit the Vasa Museum. Perfect visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nancy28144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,078
    5,016
    820
    113
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The movie about the ship, the ship replica which we can enter, and the actual ship. Very good explanation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yayang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Top class museum”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

No1 place to visit in Stockholm. One of the best things that it offers is free guided tour via wifi in multiple languages. So it is very easy and comfortable to walk around exibitions not bothering about missing something important to read.

Helpful?
Thank Tauras R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
375 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent, informative, interesting and well presented”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited the Vasa museum on the last day of our stay in Stockholm using our Stockholm Pass. We had to queue for about 20 minutes to get in (at 11am) it was busy inside but not so busy that you couldn't get access to the information boards or get good views. We took the free guided tour (every 30 minutes in English) which was excellent and gave us information which wasn't on the display boards.
The ship itself is magnificent, how fabulous to be able to get such a pristine glimpse into the past, I loved the smell of the wood which you noticed as soon as you walked in.
The displays dotted around were interesting, some were aimed at children others gave more information about the ship and the people on it. I particularly liked the recovered skeletons and the histories of the people who were on the ship when she sailed (bottom floor)
We spent about 2.5 hours in the museum, including the 30 minute tour and the 30 minute film about how the ship was recovered and restored.
It's quite dark inside to preserve the ship, the stairs are well highlighted but it could be an issue if you are visually impaired.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“must visit place”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I've been there twice: in 2011 and 2013. You could spend 3 hours in museum and want much more to. Exciting and interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank armenuhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vasa Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Vasa Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing