We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“deserves to pay a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palace

Royal Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.35*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Boat Ticket in Stockholm
Ranked #18 of 301 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The changing of the guard ceremony has been a daily tradition since 1523.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“deserves to pay a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Unfortunatelly when I `ve visited it was closed. But I had the opportiunity to walk around the gardens in the backside of the palace, which were absolutely fabulous. Even a Japanese pagode can be seen. The result really impressed me and was worthy. What, also, impressed me was the fact that you can go there by bus, paying a ticket for inside the city zone (so rather cheap), but also through a boat from the city center.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank panathas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    1,511
    609
    100
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,901 reviews
886 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“Wow - what a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Royal Palace was a great visit and place to stop. There were tours available through this place, but we didn;t see the need to go with one, as everything is labeled with signs in most languages.

The rooms of this 600+ room palace are massive, and some of the "sitting rooms" were the size of my entire house! They were decorated with displays on Swedish military decorations and medals, of which there was a considerable amount. Lots of royal chambers were shown in all their glory, and they were absolutely gorgeous. No photography is allowed anywhere inside this palace.

There is also a magnificent display inside the cellar of this building, which shows quite a few items that were rescued from the fire of 1697, which destroyed almost everything inside the palace walls. This exhibit is also worth seeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Royal Palace and change of guards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We try to visit the Royal Palace every time we come to Stockholm. The kids love to take a tour, look at where the kings and queens lived (now they live at Drottningholms Palace - also worth a visit) and raised the young princessas and prince.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lillan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

One of the best palaces I have ever visited. You can read all notices in English and there is a lot to see. Also you walk through parts of the palace which are still used several times a year which is truly amazing. A must see

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gatoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful palace in a fantastic town and location.
The sgnage and interaction with the public could be much better.
Food in the central plaza is fantastic.. A must if you go there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Huracan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing