We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, if you like palaces.”
Review of Royal Palace

Royal Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.20*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Boat Ticket in Stockholm
Ranked #19 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The changing of the guard ceremony has been a daily tradition since 1523.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, if you like palaces.”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The palaces in Italy, France, and Spain are over the top, and this one is more refined by comparison. My favorite part was the exhibit of Queen Victoria's pictures of Egypt. They were fantastic and more memorable than the crowns.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    1,547
    627
    105
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The castle in Gamla Stan”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

While the royal family does not actually live here they do have some great exhibits. I liked the changing of the guards as well. It is free if you have the Stockholm Card.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WeeklyFlyer773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“First stop to get your bearings”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Take the English tour and learn the skinny on the royal family and learn how Hollywood used the "Royal chair" in a Batman movie. State and Royal apartments are regal and the Treasury is a dream with all the crowns.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kmguam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Awesome. Walked around at your convenience. Great artifacts and old rooms. Intersting to see rooms are stoi

I'll being used. Love the lions

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank redcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Changing of the guard”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

On our last day we managed to catch the changing of the guard. This takes place everyday and I would recommend seeing it.
Beautiful buildings - we just didn't have time to go inside (and it was too cold to stand outside for a long time!)

You can't miss it, as you'll pass it walking into Gamla Stan.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToriToriToriTori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing