We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palace

Royal Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.35*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Boat Ticket in Stockholm
Ranked #18 of 301 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The changing of the guard ceremony has been a daily tradition since 1523.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Awesome. Walked around at your convenience. Great artifacts and old rooms. Intersting to see rooms are stoi

I'll being used. Love the lions

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank redcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    1,511
    609
    100
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Changing of the guard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

On our last day we managed to catch the changing of the guard. This takes place everyday and I would recommend seeing it.
Beautiful buildings - we just didn't have time to go inside (and it was too cold to stand outside for a long time!)

You can't miss it, as you'll pass it walking into Gamla Stan.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToriToriToriTori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very well run by the palace.
We saw the changing of the guards in Copenhagen and this was lot more entertaining!

Be sure to get there 15minutes prior to changing of the guards to get a front row to view everything.

Palace itself was ok. If you into palaces do take a look, otherwise I found it relatively standard.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lots to see and great if you only have an hour here and there free. The tickets are good for a week, so between the 4 sections, you can go see one section then come back the next day to see another and so on. The tickets were fairly cheap and they offer a student discount as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historical and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We started our visit by watching the changing of the guard, which is recommended. Overall, the trip was very educational and interesting. The Royal Apartments in particular were incredibly beautiful. We visited on a weekday in late November, when the Palace is only open 12 - 4. I'd recommend getting there early as it probably takes about three hours to see everything. There isn't very much to keep children entertained, but on the whole this is an interesting look back in time at how Sweden's monarchy has evolved.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adele25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing