We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,552)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveler rating
1,756
481
189
75
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,756
481
189
75
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal palace cadier bar veranda restaurant grand experience mathias dahlgren grand dame steam room old town elegant hotel star hotel overlooking the water room service deluxe room perfect location breakfast buffet baltic cruise beautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2017

Stayed here for business for two nights. Lots of staff in the lobby who are always available to help. Everyone was very polite.

We got an upgrade to the King room (must've been a step up from the standard room) and it was honestly a bit underwhelming. The room was fairly small but the layout and decor was extremely tasteful. Comfy bed and one of the quietest nights I've had in ages. The bathroom was really nice but I must say the towels didn't have a very fresh smell to them and the shower curtain was built in a way that after every shower the bathroom floor was covered in water. The amenities were top-notch - bottles of sparkling water, high-end shampoo, conditioner, soap and cream, and a box in the closet with everything else (toothbrush, shaving kit, sewing kit etc). Room was very clean and cleaned twice a day.

There are two breakfast options (continental and buffet). I chose the buffet which was amazing - a glut of options which would satisfy the most picky of eaters.

The bar is open late and we had lunch one day at the downstairs restaurant which was very good!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23JDak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017

We had just come off a long flight, the room wasn't ready. How many vikings does it take to clean a 270 sqft room? Apparently more than they had on staff that day. The front desk lady took my email address and told me she'd message me when the room was ready. Wah wah! Never happened. How rude! We were sent on a voyage across the hotel... over the river and through the woods to a crumby room we go!! The arrival of my luggage was rather sluggish... so no tip for the valet, oh no!
So lets get serious. The room wasn't great. It was stark and just underwhelming. Sure, we didn't spring for anything fancy, but come on... What? The prestige suite would just be a larger dingy room with a view of a ship? When you have a courtyard view, don't you assume that means some trees or a little park? Nope! I had a view of some office building and people were hacking away on laptops. You know what they say about those who assume. Totally true. I called down to the front desk asking if they had forgotten to give us a mattress? Nope, apparently a mattress in Scandinavia is a box spring topped with a 2inch pillow top. Camping bed in a 5 star hotel... alright alright alright. The spa was totally tiny. Like teensy tiny. Imagine trying to relax with 10 other people in a 30 x 15 foot pool surrounded by people eat oranges like fiends, watching men using the ONE SINGLE jet suspiciously, and spending $20/glass on less than veuve quality champagne. Luckily someone invented pharmaceuticals which made it more hilariously ridiculous than creepy crawly. So the staff sucked. The room sucked. The spa sucked. Before you begin to think I'm a total first world problems B, I will tell you the location is absolutely amazing. A one minute walk to boat rides. Five - ten minute walk to shopping and a quality grocer. Close to the historic district. The Abba museum was a beautiful 30 minute walk away. The second you step out of the hotel and realize you've been blessed to visit Stockholm in autumn and your dislike of the hotel and everyone in it subsides like a ship slipping away down the Baltic.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 7continentsby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear 7continentsby25

Thank you for posting your review. We are truly sorry that we did not deliver on your expectations. However, we wish you well with your goal of 7 continents before 25.

Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

Strongly recommend to chose Grand Hotel of Stockholm, especially water view rotunda rooms. Unique atmosphere and possibility not to have problems during your stay abroad. Instantaneous high level service in all departments of the hotel. Will return there for sure!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
2  Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

Grand hotel Stockholm is a perfect example for someone who wants to run a perfect hotel. Everything, from the personel, room standards, bar, spa is just spectacular. You really get the sense of "old-school" luxury every moment you spend here.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank SadieY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

and were delighted. In our four night stay I found absolutely nothing to fault this hotel. It is marvelous. The location is terrific. The views excellent. The staff bends over backwards to ensure a pleasant stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and well-designed with plenty of outlooks and amenities. Skip bringing an umbrella. The hotel supplies one. Unlike many U.S. hotels which try to force you to rent their movies by blocking tv ports, the Grand Hotel prominently displays them ... so watch Netflix from your IPad all you want. The hotel will arrange an airport pickup for the same price as other companies. Your return, if they book a trusted taxi for you, will be one-third the price. Try to get a view toward the Royal Palace. It’s worth it.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Visitor_from_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews