We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
DERBY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Stockholm is a wonderful city for a short break and the hotel is in the best location on the water's edge. We booked a deluxe King Size room and were given a fabulous room on the 4th floor with magnificent views across the harbour towards the old town. The room was large with separate seating area and recently refurbished. There was a connecting door to the next room but this did not let in any noise. The only very slight complaint is that the pillows were very soft and even 4 squashed down to nothing!
The service from all staff in the hotel was outstanding and the concierge very helpful in suggesting places to go and restaurants to eat in.
Breakfast was wonderful serving everything from porridge to fresh fruit. hot food, cold cuts and pastries. The hotel was full of guests attending conferences but this was no problem and no noise at night.
Must see places are the Vasa Museum and a visit to Drottningholm by boat. There are some wonderful traditional and italian restaurants in the old town and a very good small Irish Pub which shows english football and serves real ale. It was called Wirstroms (or something like that). Food is about the same price as London but alcohol is very expensive because of the tax. You can get a bootle of wine for £30 or a single glass for £8.
Stockholm is great for a city break and this hotel is a must if you feel like splashing out.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CH06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    376
    139
    54
    34
See reviews for
285
766
133
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This is a great hotel. Great service. Great food.
I would recommend this hotel for a trip away with a loved one but do not recommend it for a business trip as it's too expensive - I know it sounds odd, but read me out....

As a regular traveler I look for hotels with something a little different (this could be a result of my age 27-34) but didn't find it here. The hotel is "luxurious" but nothing made it stand out among the rest except for how expensive it was.

Check-in was flawless. The bell service excellent and friendly. My room, despite looking out onto another building was large and clean but I found the bedding and pillow not comfortable.

A great hotel and location but wouldn't recommend it for under 30's....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audaCITY_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
324 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

arrived for bank holiday weekend had front facing room arrived to find didnt appear to be expecting four of us even tho internet reservation was clear no problem however extra beds appeared. also minor problem with shower/bath fixed instantly.nothing is too much trouble for the phenomenal staff at this hotel at every level. smorgasbord in verandah restaurant wa samazing as was breakfast.yes the hotel is not cheap but we felt sweden was not now mych more expensive than uk in this hotel we feel u do get what u pay for and how!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2009

I stayed with a friend towards the end of last year and the hotel did not meet our expectations... It blew them all away!

All staff upon arrival were so professional and efficient. Our room was just wonderful, so beautiful and clean. Huge bath, shower area, hallway!!, living area etc.

Gorgeous bar area where we spent our entire first night. We had dinner and drinks and got talking to a variety of interesting people. It had a real buzz about it. InterContinental Hotels are always flawless.

We did have one interesting encounter with hotel security. As the hotel is so ginormous we got lost several times trying to find dinner on the first night. We noticed a security guard watching us and not long after following us. We then accidentally found ourselves in the theater. We explained we were looking for the bar but must have taken a wrong exit. He then ushered us out through a very private looking door into about -12 weathers. Us then realising he had essentially kicked us out haha! When we found our way back in we went back to our room to warm up and decided that a more glam outfit was required. We eventually found our table got seated and then saw the same gentleman. He looked extremely embarrassed and bless him he came over, apologised, and we all had a good laugh - moral of the story, dress to impress ladies!!! Do not keep your flight uniform of joggies on for a nightcap!

Go stay there, its FAB!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wee_hollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in March. The Hotel is an older hotel that has been beautifully maintained. It is located on the waterfront looking across at the Old Town and it well located for all activities. We walked to it from the train station but it is about a 15 minute walk so the walk wouldn't be for everyone. It is only a 5 minute walk over a nearby brige to the Old Town and the Palace. The Hotel is only about 7 stories high but the footprint is very large so you can have a fairly long walk from the elevator to your room.

The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with all the accessories you would expect. The staff was very warm, friendly and efficient. We had the breakfast buffet one morning and the smorgasbord one evening and while both were expensive the selection and quality of the offerings made both well worth it. They have a very efficient business centre and free wifi.

The cost of the room was quite expensive and while the room was very nice the overall pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel enhanced the experience even more. We were left poorer in the pocket book but richer for the overall experience.

Don't miss an opportunity to visit the Vasa Museum which has an resurrrected old ship in it. Doesn't sound particularly interesting but the way the presentation is done will leave you fascinated for hours as you work your way through the exhibits.

Stockholm is a beautiful city in every respect and everyone seems to speak fluent English with most signs being in both Swedish and English so the unilingual traveller need have no worries.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

This is the place to stay.... The boats are in front of you... the food is out of this world, and the service is one of the best around.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Fabulous breakfast, huge array of food which just about set you up for the day! Front Desk and Concierge staff were always helpful and friendly, except for one incident. The hotel is in an excellent location, great for excursions and meals into the Old City (Gamla Stan) and equally well placed for shopping and meals in the 'centre'. We could walk everywhere so easily. Beds were comfortable and everything was well appointed. Our only criticisms are pretty minor in the scheme of things. There was a lack of consistency with evening turndown service. We stayed in the hotel six nights and two nights our room was unattended. Same with the water bottle replacement. Sometimes it was done in the morning, but other times there was no water until evening. Strange! We stayed on the 4th floor for the first three days and loved the room. When we returned after travelling elsewhere for a few days we were given a room in the older part of the hotel on level 3. We requested a change as it was smaller, the floor creaked when you walked and most annoyingly of all, it was a lot colder as it guess the windows were not well insulated. We were moved to a room on the 6th floor, in the roof eaves and it was disappointing compared to level 4. Definitely the best level (that or level 5) for views across the city. Hotel was very quiet, no road noise of any note.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of consistent service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Twoplustoddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 157 in Stockholm
524 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 157 in Stockholm
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 157 in Stockholm
1,254 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 157 in Stockholm
1,435 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 157 in Stockholm
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing