We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 'Grande Dame' in a top location.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great 'Grande Dame' in a top location.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Situated right in the center of beautiful Stockholm with a view on a beautiful bay of water and the royal palace this is truly a deluxe hotel with a lot of 'grandeur'.
The service is very friendly and attentive, the rooms are large and very well equipped.
The decoration style is somewhere between old fashioned and modernized. As if some of it has remained unchanged since many years. I don't mean anything was damaged or defective, but some elements reminded me a lot of hotel styles in the late 60's and early 70's.
The only weak point was the poor knowledge of the concierge staff. They seemed poorly informed about the city, getting around etc... when I compare this to concierges in other luxury hotels.
But all in all a top hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    388
    143
    57
    36
See reviews for
304
817
137
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked a Superior Double (30 sq. m.) and, although I have to say I think the room decor was pretty outdated it was undeniably Swedish. It fitted very well in with the amazing views of the Royal Castle and surroundings, which I didn´t have access to from my windows, but which greeted us every day on the morning workouts and as soon as you strolled out the door. It´s the best inner city location in Stockholm, and that´s that.
The bathrooms were spacious and very nice.
The spa was super relaxing, and the in-spa breakfast/smoothie bar even served tiny buckets of super healthy raw ice cream. The hotel breakfast was so pricy I just couldn´t bring myself to pay for it so we went for the smoothie and had a hearty lunch instead out on the Djurgården island - the one thing you have to do in Stockholm during summer is to visit the organic farm/garden restaurant Trädgården, I can´t even begin to describe how idyllic that place were. There´s a little shop with tons of stuff to take home... ask the concierge to tell you how to get there (by tram or boat).
The boats departed not long from the entrance to the hotel, and I would strongly recommend them over the bus during summertime.
Overall, this hotel is a luxurious treat, but I can´t help thinking I would rather pay a bit more for a junior suite with a view at Hilton Slussen (which also has a spa) than stare at that backyard one more time.

Room Tip: Without a view the hotel is a bit boring. If you do get a Superior Double then make sure it´s on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nothing but the best. Everything perfect, location in the heat of the waterfront, close to all and great service. The only let down was the breakfast for such a lovely hotel the breakfast is only media ochre and if there is a rush on at peak hour things are not replaced and no egg station. Next time I would not include breakfast as it is a let down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Our rooms were a bit small and warm, when we informed them how warm our rooms were they upgraded us to suits with a breathtaking view.
The service is quick. Most importantly people working there (and in sweden) are very friendly and welcoming.
To have an amazing experience, stay in the suite.
The location of this hotel is perfect! It's close to everything.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Huda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Apart from the Ideal central location , it's a massive Hotel , so try and avoid the very distant rooms as it's a long long walk to the front of house . Awesome breakfast and quite stunning architectural features through out .

Room Tip: Avoid the high numbers -- as in 1/2/3/4/5/6/7 floors rooms 50's and above , they are a very long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

In a world of hotels furnished to the lowest common denominator the Grand Hotel stands out as as icon of style, comfort and elegance.
In the center of Stockholm across from the old town and adjacent to the archipelago steam boats it is the optimal jumping off point to see and explore Stockholm which is one of the great and unspoiled cities of Europe.
The rooms are elegant and tasteful and the staff are superb and helpful. Cadier restaurant overlooking the inner harbor is world class.

Room Tip: First time visitors will enjoy views of the old town and palace on the rooms facing the water. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orjan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I've traveled to Stockholm on many occasions and have stayed in excellent hotels in the past. This time, and at the recommendation of a friend who happens to be Swedish, I booked a "Superior Rum mot Sidogata/Innergård" at the Grand Hotel. Excellent location! Excellent staff! But horrible housekeeping! The bed linen was not changed when we returned to our room after spending a day out in the city. And I could have done a better job myself in making the bed. The empty bottles from the minibar from the previous night were not removed from the room. I have stayed at a number of 5 star hotels throughout the world, and if I am not mistaking the bed linen was changed or at least looked as if it had been changed on every occasion. If it is not the Grand Hotel’s policy to change the bed linen on a daily basis than at least they should make sure that the housekeeper is capable enough to make the bed properly. I hope that the Grand Hotel get it right the next time around. And by the way the hotel could do themselves a great service if they were to upgrade the furniture in the room. It is outdated. Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
565 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,518 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,491 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing