We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very competent staff, especially the bell staff. Excellent location. Highly recommended.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed May 17, 2014

LOCATION: A taxi from Stockholm Arlanda Airport takes 30 minutes and costs SEK 520. Ask the hotel concierge for a cheaper taxi ride from the hotel to the airport, SEK 470. Centrally located. A short walking distance from the hotel to the Old Town/Gamla Stan and other touristic sites.

HOTEL: Courteous, efficient front desk staff and concierge. The bell staff is especially superb. Clean, generous size room. Good sound proof windows. Old beds, but fairly comfortable. Good duvet, but the duvet cover is partly ripped, (see picture for detail). Not what one would expect from a hotel that plays the host to the Noble Prize laureates. Good pillows. Good heater. Good size bathroom. Very good shower with powerful shower water pressure. Free in-room WIFI. Overall a very good hotel, with or without the partial ripped duvet cover.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear HKasyouare

Thank you for your positive review, I am sorry to hear that one of the duvet covers in your room was damaged; our housekeeping and laundry department have been informed.

Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,113)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had the chance to stay at this wonderful hotel in Stockhom. Close to the kings palace.
Very nice located, with great views both from the room and form the restaurant.
Very nice bar area with friendly staff.
The rooms a very nice, big and cosy.
I can absolutely recommend to stay there, even if it is a bit expensive.
The hotel is early special and the flair n the hotel puts you in another time.. :-)
Too sad that I could not have breakfast there as my flight was leaving too early.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Testkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Testkitty

Thank you for the positive review. Next time you stay with us we hope that you have time to enjoy the breakfast.
Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Enjoyed 3 luxurious nights here in May in a deluxe harbour view room which was perfect. The hotel is comfortable and well appointed, the room and the view were faultless and the staff were really friendly. A deserved 5 star rating with the desired level of luxury with none of the pretentiousness to spoil the atmosphere. The location is great, right on the harbour, boat tours leave from right outside and it's a short stroll to the old town for the evening. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London3836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear London3836

Thank you for the positive review, we are delighted that you would recommend the Grand to others that are planning to stay in Stockholm.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent a long weekend here in Spring 2014. Fantastic hotel experience:-) stayed here once before the rehabiltation, Then it was good now its great!!!. Deliciious breakfast at the Verandaen overlooking the harbour. The Cardierbaren has great drinks and a lovley staff. Of course this has a higher price but this Hotel really delivers a great time for their guests., Even the beds, pillows and linien is top class. The staff all over is friendly, helpful and makes Your stay great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrysilKnutsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear trysil2011

Thank you for the review, I can certainly agree that the Cadier Bar has a great selection of cocktails and other beverages and that the view from the bar, over the water is great.

We are also delighted that you noticed that we have recently installed new bed linen throughout the hotel to further enhance our guest experience.

Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have just got back from a trip to Stockholm with my wife, we often travel there to see friends, but this time our usual hotel was full & we booked The Grand instead.

I was very impressed by the attentive nature of the staff, the attitude they showed and the care they took with my wife's food allergies both in room service and at the breakfast (which was wonderful!)

The spa was very relaxing & I went back twice during our stay. Top quality service again.

The room itself was very grand (no pun intended!) and was faultlessly clean.

I cannot fault our time at The Grand and will definitely be returning here next time we are in Stockholm.

Room Tip: we were in 204
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear David M

We are extremely happy that you were able to stay at the Grand on your recent visit and that we were able to take care of your requirements. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you upon your return.

Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is the only real 5 star hotel in Stockholm, its a classic and classy. Especially the Cadierbar in the lobby is a great hangout with fantastic afternoon tea or brunch. The 2 star restaurant Mathias Dahlgren next door is the best restaurant I have experienced and they also have a "simpler" one star version called Matbaren. There is a beautiful spa with free entrance for guests. We stayed in a deluxe room that was spacious and beautiful, the only minus was that we were promised seeview when we booked but got a room facing a back alley. Otherwise great service and a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Per S

Thank you for your comprehensive review, it looked as though you managed to enjoy many of the different elements of the Grand Hotel during your stay. If you are returning in the summer be sure to try the Terrasse restaurant our summer outdoor restaurant that recently opened for the season.

Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is simply beautiful. The only complaints I had was there was no Malibu in the Bar and there was no Tea and Coffee facilities in the room. However this wouldn't stop me staying there. If you would like to treat yourself and are staying in Stockholm Visit the Grand. Even if its only for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Angelbel

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We noted your comments regarding Malibu and have passed these on to the Cadier bar.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
592 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,321 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,579 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $337 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing