We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I don't know where to begin.... From being chauffered from the airport (at a cost) to being delivered safely at the front door, the service was all just amazing. We had a suite with a beautiful view over the Royal Palace and Gamla Stan. How nice to wake up tp that each morning and, incidentally, also at the end of the night. Sunset was around 10.30 pm and sunrise around 3.00 am. We intentionally booked a large suite and it didn't disappoint. It was HUGE. The bathroom was HUGE.

The location is brilliant too. A three minute walk to Gamla Stan and a 5-8 minute walk to a couple of major shopping centres (Malls). If you want luxury and wish to be treated with respect and courtesy, look no further. All facets of the service was beyo0nd what I had expected or even hoped for. The Mathias Dahlgren restaurant is amazing but then again, so were the breekfasts each morning. I can't fault it. If we ever return to Sweden (fingers crossed) I would not look any further than the Grand.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view overlooking the Palace. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillJKingaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    381
    141
    54
    36
See reviews for
295
785
136
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites overlooking the harbor and boy weren't we disappointed. We loved everything in the hotel. The rooms were spacious and newly renovated, the food was absolutely gorgeous. There's a two star and one star Michelin restaurants that we enjoyed thoroughly. They have a beautiful spa and what a location. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

One of my very best experiences ever. I find the restaurant at the Grand Hotel the most beautiful in the whole Sweden. I've never stayed in a hotel itself, but dined there several times. The atmosphere inside is very luxury, worth bringing a business partner for a dinner or lunch. The food and cocktails are just perfect both for taste and presentation. The view opens up the city center, Slussen area and almost from every window everyone can see the ferries parked!
I am based in Malmo, thou I am going to stop by every time I am in Sth!
Highly recommended for business people and couples!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everyone here is really nice but the room is really old and dated and constantly smelled like smoke and sewage. The breakfast and views are nice. If you are looking for "modern and fresh" this is not your place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreask1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice place. Nice house. Nice long corridors, like in the film "Shining" with a red carpets. Nice room. Nice design in the rooms and the most important fantastic bathroom with a huge bath almost in the middle of the room. Good food especially breakfast, where you can find fresh baries and etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salome7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great hotel, the concierge was really helpful! You can fit 5 people in two joining room for families! The service was good and the cleanlingness. Didn't go on the spa. The location is perfect near the vasa, Djurgarden etc and next to ancient Stockholm, and it has a beautiful view!

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle have a better room, and if you go with a family get a joining-room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripvicetick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Grand Hotel is beyond doubt the venue to stay. Full of history and lumineries who have stayed here since the Nobel Prize ceremony started by Alfred Nobel in 1901. Located across the river is the Old Town. To the right is the glitzy shopping street of BIRGER JARLSPASSAGEN and BIBLIOTEKSGATAN. Across the park is NK, the fine department store. Overall the hotel has great service standards and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poh Chu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing