We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in this charming hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Stockholm
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in this charming hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was here very briefly on business but had a very pleasant experience. Room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. Service throughout the hotel was wonderful - always friendly and efficient. As a female traveling alone, I also appreciated that the hotel would send female staff members to my room to, e.g., deliver room service. Food at the hotel was great. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Stockholm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sigtuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked a one night arrangement to celebrate my wife’s 50th birthday. The arrangement included an upgraded room with the best view of Stockholm, champagne, breakfast and Spa treatment. All was as expected and better. Excellent service and professional and friendly staff. Frida from the booking department arranged all without hiccups and to the full satisfaction of my wife and myself. Service that excels is something you never get tired off…

Room Tip: Look at the special room and Spa arrangements which make you keep the room until 4pm the day after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcjmichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay at Grand Hotel in Stockholm. Already at the entrance you feel so welcomed and that feeling follows you all the way until the day you leave the hotel. Me and my husband have stayed here several times and they have never failed us. I leave Stockholm longing to come back. You don't have to pay a fortune to stay at the Grand, if you plan your trip you can get 15% reduction and sometimes more. You don't need to book the suite to feel like royalty, even their classic room is grand. But best of all is the staff, so classy and refined.
On top of that you can use the Spa which is one of the best I have visited, most times we have been there we were almost alone, depending on the time of the day and on the day of the week.
We have been travelling around the world since the seventies, our taste has changed since then, we are more choosy, this is why we prefer to stay a few days at the Grand before we leave Sweden for Spain, with a taste of the grand old world

Room Tip: It all depends on your preferences and your budget. We usually use the hotel to sleep, it is nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaSvenOlovSoneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A lovely hotel situated right on the harbourfront in Stockholm so convenient for catching sight-seeing harbour cruise boats and strolling around this picturesque city.
Our prestige room was small for $'s outlaid but the bedding was comfortable. An unexpected surprise for us was that the city was celebrating the Festival of the Sea, lobsters. Very interesting little crustations, very different to lobsters I ever seen but the locals were animated in their enthusiasm to eat as many lobsters as they could during the festival. We visited two years ago following a Silversea Baltic cruise and decided to spend four nights before flying elsewhere. Both dining rooms overlook the busy harbour with good food but, it is expensive. We laughed when the strolling guitarist asked for a 'request' to which we replied anything ABBA. "ABBA who?"
Great location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A very classy hotel , for people that like traditional hotels with a bit of history . The service is good , i found the reception a bit too formal but the consierge and the bar staff were extremly friendly . The veranda was really nice with some amazing views and good dishes . Order an apple toddie while sitting in the bar . The prices are really exprensive like everything else in Stockholm. I will surely comeback .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the place to stay if you're a star or receiving the Nobel Prize. We stayed here only because a friend was receiving the prize and we wanted to help him celebrate. Everything is top notch, but prices were astronomical. Breakfast at the Veranda was exceptional and the spa is outstanding. Everything is great except the price. Snacks and two beers at the bar cost us over $100 US, so we usually chose to dine away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a premier room for three nights and this is as good as it gets in Scandinavia. Large, beautiful room, great service, lovely breakfast and a superb Spa.
If you like classic luxery this a the place to stay.
You are greeted with a smile from you come till you leave.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#13 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#2 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#5 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing