We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the best hotels in Stockholm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Stockholm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A very classy hotel , for people that like traditional hotels with a bit of history . The service is good , i found the reception a bit too formal but the consierge and the bar staff were extremly friendly . The veranda was really nice with some amazing views and good dishes . Order an apple toddie while sitting in the bar . The prices are really exprensive like everything else in Stockholm. I will surely comeback .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    354
    129
    53
    33
See reviews for
250
708
119
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
271 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the place to stay if you're a star or receiving the Nobel Prize. We stayed here only because a friend was receiving the prize and we wanted to help him celebrate. Everything is top notch, but prices were astronomical. Breakfast at the Veranda was exceptional and the spa is outstanding. Everything is great except the price. Snacks and two beers at the bar cost us over $100 US, so we usually chose to dine away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a premier room for three nights and this is as good as it gets in Scandinavia. Large, beautiful room, great service, lovely breakfast and a superb Spa.
If you like classic luxery this a the place to stay.
You are greeted with a smile from you come till you leave.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My uncle won the 2012 Nobel Prize in Economic Science and this hotel was (and has been since the start of the prizes) the official hotel for the Laureates and their guests. Otherwise I probably would not have chosen the Grand Hotel based on the price. But this was a unique event and it was nice for my extended family to celebrate my uncle's achievement in 5-star luxury. This was my first visit to Stockholm so I don't have any basis for comparison, but everything from my room to the restaurant to the spa and to staff deserves a five-star rating.

So if your visit to Stockholm is for a special occasion, spend the money and enjoy the luxury. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the south side of the hotel so that you have a spectacular view of the waterfront and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Amazing hotel, welcoming you to the luxury world in the heart of Stockholm. The rooms were old fashioned but nice and cosy. The beds were very comfortable enabling a deep sleep. The service was very attentive. The only comment I have relatest to the breakfast: fresh and high quality products; however not worth the standards of such great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first time in Sweden and was really just a transit stay on our route towards the ice hotel in Kiruna. Everything about this hotel is classic 5 star. The lobby is grand and busy, and seems to be a trendy place in Stockholm. We saw several well known actors chilling in the lobby, and tom cruise seems to have been staying in the suite next to ours.
This hotel stands out in what I deem to be the most important, FOOD! I had the most amazing hamburger in the lobby, and later that evening we had the privilege of dinning in their 2 michillen stared restaurant, and it was amazing. They also have a more laid back one michellin star restaurant operated by the same chef.
Every other aspect of this hotel is correct. Clean, comfortable and proper service. My wife and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed in the Grand recently for a second time this year. The hotel is excellent in every way, position, staff (particularly the consierge), services and atmosphere. But the greatest experience was the Restaurant Mathias Dahlgren. I have dined in some 15 michellin star restaurants this year but Mathias was the best for me because it combined excelence in food, in wine, in service and in atmosphere and almost always one of these is lacking...
Definetely looking forward to my next trip to Stockholm

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panosksussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 160 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 160 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#17 of 160 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 160 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#21 of 160 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing