We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With no time to read the menu....”
Review of Oyster Bar

Oyster Bar
Reserve with
Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #677 of 3,112 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ostermalm
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“With no time to read the menu....”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had before the visit decided our menu. But the owner had other plans and did a gross attempt to sell up to such a degree that we ended with a costly assorted oyster and sea fish. Even our choice of wine was not good enough for him - all in all we spent more than twice what we had planned.

Afterthe innselling it really took time tohave the food on the table - a salad was forgottwn and also his (the owners) offer to do a little oyster eating intro just vanished.

With a little less stress and some respect for iwhat the gust may want from the restaurant - this could have ended far bettwr"""

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrj-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Seafood feast.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked a set meal with lobster soup to start followed by a seafood platter which was all delicious. This menu also included a creme brulee desert that was the best I have ever had!
Friendly and chatty owner welcomed us and also served our dinner.
Booking a table is advisable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“good seafood”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Been to Oyster Bar a number of times and always very satisfied with the food. The lobster soup, half lobster and creme brulee are of very good quality taste-wise, presentation-wise. I agree with someone that bringing in a knife will be helpful, maybe not the usual practice but can always say, "I can bring you a knife if you want one". There was a time we ordered a plate of seafood and it was heavenly, everything in it were superb! Smoked and steamed shrimps, crabs, oysters - all of them perfect with the three different sauces they serve on the side.

Yes, Björn the owner has very good intentions, but he does talk to customers a little too long sometimes :) My latest visit ws yesterday, all staff were very friendly. The place was packed. The place is starting to be more cozy than a year ago, most be the candle lights and decors.

Very satisfied and will definitely come back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good oysters, but poor and slow service”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Oysters are good, there is an ok selection of champagne at it is all fairly priced. The owner is a happy chap, small talking to gursts and enthusiastic about his oysters.

Still, something is very wrong. Probably it is organisation and management that just fails:
When we enter no one of the four in the staff behind the bar takes any notice. I have to walk up there, put my parcel on the counter, say hi and wait for ten seconds before anyone decides to take notice of me. It takes fifteen minutes before someone bothers about taking our order, another twenty before our bottle of champagne arrives and we have been in the restaurant for one hour when our first oysters arrives ( and the sides we ordered never arrives). Water missing. napkins missing. forks missing. For our second serving of oysters we ask for two more glasses of champagne. We end up waiting 30 minutes and several reminders, hesitating if we should eat our oysters without anything to drink, before the glasses finally arrive. And so it goes on.

Oysters are good and well priced, but don't go here if you are hungry, in a rush or expecting service. Perhaps it is better to sit at the counter to have the immediate attention of the staff?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn_in_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Had a splending time with my fionce”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Was visiting stockholm for the weekend, and ate dinner at Oyster Bar, good service and nice prices.

And what really did the night was the funny owner of the resturant.

Which I could go again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Bar also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing