We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidentally Spent a night in Stockholm”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Accidentally Spent a night in Stockholm”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Missed my overnight train to Kiruna so I had to find a place to stay. Customer service at the "ABBA" Airport sent me to the Rica. After a terrible day of getting my backpack(with laptop) stolen and not being able to access money, I could not have been happier with the Rica or Stockholm. The woman at the desk was very accommodating and found me a room even though I did not have a reservation. The location of the hotel is right in the middle of a beautiful walking area and I will definitely be going back to both Stockholm and the Rica to explore and enjoy Stockholm. It is a quaint little hotel with very friendly staff and a nice breakfast in the morning. Rooftop looks over the city and there are bars an restaurants in the area. It is not a matter of "if" I will go back to the Rica, but "when", and I hope it is soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    308
    82
    24
    9
See reviews for
78
245
79
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here only three night, but it was very comfortable. The guiding princple of thi hotel are level of services and breakfasts. Breakfasts was really excellent. Mainly I can recommended gently smoked salmon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar89ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location in Gamla Stan near metro station. I stayed late September, but can imagine in peak months (June-August) the noise factor would be substantially increased, and perhaps the rooms hot as there is no air-conditioning.
Breakfast was nice european style. The rooms are cute vintage style with modern bathroom. Good wifi access. Overall a nice hotel for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank To_seek_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Searched for a hotel in Gamla stan with walking distance to a symposium and chose Rica based on previous reviews. I was not disapointed! Lots of period details, but also modern comfort - especially in the refurbished bathrom (can´t be long ago). Had a single room on 2nd floor (3 etasje) facing a sidestreet, and it was quiet. Heard someone working the vacuumcleaner early in the morning though, and slamming of the door of the neighbour-room. But apart from this minor distrubances there were none. Enjoyed the breakfast, more to choose from than I expected. I didn´t have any trouble with the WIFI as written in another review, the system with new code every 24 hour is used freqently.

The other guests in the hotel seemed to be mainly tourists when I was there, not at typical business-hotel.

Room Tip: Sidestreet and not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Positive aspects:
1. great location, in the Medieval Gamla Stan island, walking distance to main attractions and still in a silent area
2.rooms are well furnished
3.beds are large(by European standards)
4.silent rooms(avoid ground level rooms- rooms 121 until 127)
5. there is a small elevator- it fits 3 persons or 1 with luggage(I'm just grateful that there is an elevator in a historical place as this one)
6.small but good breakfast buffet( 3 or 4 types of bread,jam,butter,3 types of ham, cheese,yogurt,granola,boiled egg but no scramble egg or omelet)
7. this is really a 4 star hotel accommodation with a 4 star price
8. close to a convenient italian restaurant -Vapiano ( that has great pasta, pizzas,salads with reasonable prices and is open from 11am until 12pm

Negative aspects:
1. there are 4 steps in the front of the hotel and 4 more steps in front of the elevator- nothing big, but just to let you know
2.ground floor room are noisy due to the reception and breakfast area, avoid rooms 121until 127 for that reason
3.no safe in the room

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room are noisy due to the reception and breakfast area, avoid rooms 121until 127...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarissa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
235 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location within walking distance of everything. The room was a little on the small side and there was no air conditioning. The room was pretty warm during the day but was cool enough at night with the windows open. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wamzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved the our suite even though our suitcases did not fit .We loved the breakfast,had everything you want.We paid for the the best location in Stockholm.
...you can walk everywhere...but to our surprise the WIFI was the most frustrating.You have to get a new number every night from the concierge and if you are lucky you connect and stay connected.We did not understand why this hotel would try to save money on a connection to WIFI!!!there is o air condition but you are in a 17 th century house.

Room Tip: If you are a couple choose a suite so you have room to unpack.there is o air condition so if it is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#71 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing