We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a lovely hotel, wonderful area in Stockholm and would highly recommend staying in Gamla Stan and Hotel Rica!

Breakfast was excellent, I ate enough for 3 people!

The room was charming and the staff were absolutely lovely.

My husband and I had a fab time and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jatesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Gamla Stan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 676 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Rica Hotel Gamla Stan this August prior to boarding the Wind Surf yacht for a cruise in the Baltic. The location on Gamla Stan couldn't have been better-within walking distance of the ferry, shops, restaurants and bars.
However, our room on the third floor must have been an afterthought. It was decorated with "antiques" and crammed with too much furniture to be comfortable. The bed was new and quite comfy. I have closets bigger than the bathroom. The toilet was located half under the sink so you had to stand sideways to use the sink and your leg was hitting the basin when sitting on the toilet. This does not mean that all rooms are like this one. So I would suggest asking about the room size and bathroom before accepting it.
Our stay was for Thursday and Friday nights. On Friday night, all the young people in Stockholm must head for Gamla Stan, and they party all night. Our room window was on a side street and the partying was going on until 4 a.m. Needless to say, we did not get much sleep. Since there was no air conditoning in our room, there was no way to close the windows to try to muffle the noise.
The hotel has a great buffet breakfast with a selection to satisfy all international tastes.
I have to rate this hotel as average because of the above. If I had a different room, my rating may have been higher.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street and side street may be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnitMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very cosy hotel revoking the Sweden of a hundred or more years ago - with the modern comfort of course! Friendly service, abundant breakfast, free internet, even a small roof terrace, and location right in the Old Town, walking distance to everywhere; alternatively the subway is only a few steps away. Rica is a charming, lovely, cosy hotel, it provides real value for your money, and I would recommend it to friends and family without hesitation.
Some other reviewers commented on small rooms - yes, it is an old house that kept its charm, which includes small rooms. But that's why you do internet research - so you know what you get when you book it. I had a small single room with a small bathroom - but it was perfectly fine and I enjoyed being in the room. (though you don't some to Stockholm for staying in your room only). I do not share the - often North-American - view that one person needs a bed of at least 150 cms, and that a bedroom must be spacious. This may be fundamental point - so those who want modern North-American standards, don't book here. Those who want local flavour, feeling like in a Selma Lagerlöf novel, and value charm over space, absolutely do book here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoxBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I loved this hotel, very charming and lovely. Our room was enormous and tastefully decorated, and the loaction was excellent, not too far from the train station and walking distance to shops, cafes and bars. Highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My sisterin-law and I stayed here for three days prior to a Baltic Sea Cruise on the Seabourne.
The hotel was in a great location, just around the corner from many restaurants, shops, and canal area. Beds were extremely comfortable....or we may have been just jetlagged! The breakfast was quite nice, with many choices, and delicious...smoothies, pancakes,sausage,juices,breads,meats,and fruits. The elevator was quite small, but most are in Europe. Even found a cute pull down ironing board in the hallway of the hotel. A delightful hotel and location -perfect! Quiet street and very nice helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinnyStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Exquisite hotel in the old town, close to many restaurants and attractions. Nicely decorated and a generous breakfast. Walking distance to the Slussen Ferry that takes you to the Wasa and Skansen, etc. Try the tiny elevator, we nicknamed it the "magic cupboard". Highly recommended, hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July. Very pretty room (not large but comfortable) and great location. Breakfast good, variety of fruit, breads, cheese, eggs, sausages etc. Bit noisy in the street outside during the night, but it was a Saturday night. Other than that was great, would happily stay there again,

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Twirlilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#56 of 154 in Stockholm
1,334 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
608 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
330 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#81 of 154 in Stockholm
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $170 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing