We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #47 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute!”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Felt very personal. Service very good - very welcoming at 4am when our flight had been delayed and even rustled us up some breakfast. Normal breakfast was an outstanding feast! Rooms very unique and well decorated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocko82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    306
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
78
241
79
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Très chic! Sweet room with nice wallpapers, great location, generally quiet and absolutely excellent breakfast! Yummy. I start salivating by trying to think of that breakfast. Take time and a closer look what is offered, you won't regret. The room had a great modern bathroom, very thick window curtains (got a side view over a little piece of Gamla Stan). They introduced an interesting idea of tea and coffee self-service in the lobby, which could make the guests mingle and makes the lobby lively. You will find tea or coffee inside the closet in the lobby and then choose your sofa. Helpful and kind personnel. On the down side, the room ventilation (air conditioning?) cannot be switched off and I was quite cold. Couldn't find any floor heating in the bathroom, so had cold feet. The bed hosts very soft mattress. The door only locks with an old fashioned key, so safety might not be the best, but Gamla Stan is probably not a high risk area. The only thing I really hated in the room was wobbly closet and even if it would be fixed, the style was not appropriate for the room. I think the place has slight room for improvement (better closets, mattresses etc.), but I would definitely come back again, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anaiiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
212 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel is a very short walk from the T-Ban subway system, which makes the entire city easy to get to. More importantly, the hotel is located in the best part of the city, Gamla Stan. This is the historic area, full of wonderful buildings and churches. The palace is a short walk. There are numerous restaurants and shops on the island. We arrived very early in the morning and we're hoping to drop off our luggage to go sightseeing. However, to our surprise, they let us check in. They also held our bags after check out so we could continue to enjoy the city before our ferry left. They offer a more than adequate breakfast each morning and coffee/tea in the afternoon. The room was lovely. The bathroom was on the small side, but still more than acceptable by European standards. They had a one piece queen bed!!! This is a very rare find because most hotels put two twins together, which does not make for comfortable cuddling with the husband. The staff was very nice and assisted with every question. We loved this hotel and would absolutely stay here again. The location alone made it a wonderful trip, the hotel was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelandGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This isn't the most modern of Swedish hotels but it has a lovely inviting, warm, authentic feel. The location in the central and beautiful Gamla Stan is great but a slightly disappointing breakfast is the only negative.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views and are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed there for one night. Chose it on a recommendation from a Swedish friend and were not disappointed. The place is small and the rooms not overly large9 or at least the one we had). But the room was very nicely furnished and the service was excellent. This was in October and might have been less appealing in the summer since this room, at least was not air-conditioned. Though the hotel is only a few blocks away from the main shopping drag in Gamla Stan-- a great place to be located--it was quiet. The breakfast was very sumptuous and the breakfast room inviting. If you wish to have a glass of wine in your room, the state run bottle shop store is virtually across the street (hours M-Sat 10AM-7PM)-- a good way to avoid very high Swedish prices in bars and restaurants

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Beautifully decorated hotel tucked away in the Old Town with comfortable beds and chairs, but very little storage space. The single wardrobe was only about one foot wide and there were no drawers for clothes, but cupboard space had been made for a large mini-bar (although those who can afford mini-bar prices presumably stay in more expensive hotels). Unfortunately, our room faced the back (despite the position, I gather that no rooms have sea views) and was excessively dark and gloomy even on a sunny day.
The hotel was furnished throughout with fresh flowers and the whole place was filled with the fragrance of lilies – in October! Also worthy of mention is the excellent and extensive serve-yourself breakfast where you could easily over-indulge in breads, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, yoghourts and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great value hotel (certainly by Stockholm standards) around midsummer 2011 at least, although room prices were a lot higher when I checked availability for a return trip in September 2011... Great central location - very close to Gamla Stan metro station. Well furnished, quiet rooms. Good breakfast selection.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr-dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 157 in Stockholm
541 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#22 of 157 in Stockholm
445 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#54 of 157 in Stockholm
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#72 of 157 in Stockholm
251 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#70 of 157 in Stockholm
161 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 157 in Stockholm
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing