We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but . . .”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #11 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location but . . .”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Customer service is great.

I was in Stockholm on business for 2 nights, breakfast was advertised to start at 6:30am - and both days none of the hot food or pastries were out until 6:45am. On the first morning not even the coffee was out until 6:45am - and since there is no coffee in the room meant I barely had enough time for a cup of coffee before I had to leave to get to work.

For a hotel that is supposed to be a 4 star I expect better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mette_v_S, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Lara

Good to hear that you enjoyed your over-all stay! We're sorry for the breakfast delay and will look into it. Thank you for telling us and hope to see you with us soon again.

Take care!

Team Diplomat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    478
    117
    30
    23
See reviews for
207
616
84
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Superb located with beautiful seaview. Just in the center within walkingdistance to everything. Close to Djurgården park. Enjoy the view of the boats. Family owned hotel with high standard and popular bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marie188095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We needed an escape from Copenhagen so spent New Years Eve there, had an amazing dinner in the Restaurant and enjoyed our hotel room which was clean spacious with a great view of teh fireworks and had a bath !!
Staff were friendly and looked after our bags after we checked out the next day while we explored.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The staff didn't take our luggage to our room and the bar staff were extremely slow. There was aleak in the bathroom which delayed our morning but was remedied with efficiency.

The staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful when prompted.

The spa was booked for three days non stop during our stay as it a one room spa which requires booking in advance - this was not made known to us prior to visiting.

The ambiance in the hotel is lovely - a fun vibe and a cool crowd. It is well located and in walking distance of great shops and interior design boutiques - something Stockholm is well known for.

Overall a great stay in the city and a pretty friendly hotel with some improvements to be made.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OoLaLa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A place where the location is priceless. Walking distance to basically everything in stockholm. You have museums, old town, shopping districts, nightlife and bars just around the corner. Located in a beautiful classical Stockholm building, renovated with Scandinavian touch.

Room Tip: The non-refundable room we had was a bit too small. You would need some extra sqm to feel a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ahmet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a nice weekend at this hotel, although I booked a middle range room and was given a standard. When I called the reception they said they couldn't guarantee the room as I booked through a different site, and offered no money back. Was quite disappointed by this as the standard room really is small.
Nevertheless of suited us as it was very cold and the room was nice and cosy, beds were comfy.
Excellent location on the water and right by a tram stop which was handy in the cold evenings.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was expecting a top notch hotel but I was disappointed. The hotelroom was mediocre and the service was terrible.
The one good thing that really stood out was the breakfast and the staff was fantastic in the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank charwido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing