We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #12 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We needed an escape from Copenhagen so spent New Years Eve there, had an amazing dinner in the Restaurant and enjoyed our hotel room which was clean spacious with a great view of teh fireworks and had a bath !!
Staff were friendly and looked after our bags after we checked out the next day while we explored.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

The staff didn't take our luggage to our room and the bar staff were extremely slow. There was aleak in the bathroom which delayed our morning but was remedied with efficiency.

The staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful when prompted.

The spa was booked for three days non stop during our stay as it a one room spa which requires booking in advance - this was not made known to us prior to visiting.

The ambiance in the hotel is lovely - a fun vibe and a cool crowd. It is well located and in walking distance of great shops and interior design boutiques - something Stockholm is well known for.

Overall a great stay in the city and a pretty friendly hotel with some improvements to be made.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OoLaLa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A place where the location is priceless. Walking distance to basically everything in stockholm. You have museums, old town, shopping districts, nightlife and bars just around the corner. Located in a beautiful classical Stockholm building, renovated with Scandinavian touch.

Room Tip: The non-refundable room we had was a bit too small. You would need some extra sqm to feel a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ahmet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a nice weekend at this hotel, although I booked a middle range room and was given a standard. When I called the reception they said they couldn't guarantee the room as I booked through a different site, and offered no money back. Was quite disappointed by this as the standard room really is small.
Nevertheless of suited us as it was very cold and the room was nice and cosy, beds were comfy.
Excellent location on the water and right by a tram stop which was handy in the cold evenings.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was expecting a top notch hotel but I was disappointed. The hotelroom was mediocre and the service was terrible.
The one good thing that really stood out was the breakfast and the staff was fantastic in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank charwido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

After several stays over the last 4 years at the nobis hotel I decided to make a move to the diplomat.
It was the right decision, room with a view, dining and breakfast with a view, good size rooms, efficient personell helping for breakfast.
I will be back next week for 5 nights.

Room Tip: Room with sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marco l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night recently and found the hotel to be really friendly and our room was spacious and very comfy. It had lovely views over the city. Breakfast was a great selection and we hope to be back to stay longer.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cathyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
633 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
2,244 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,359 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,738 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $190 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing