We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful high standard”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #12 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The first thing I would like to mention is the great housekeeping of room and public areas. I have stayed at many hotels, incl 5 star, where the cleaning simply was seriously lacking, but not here. The hotel recognised it being my birthday during my stay so they had upgraded my room to a lovely one on the 5th floor. Room was quiet and nice, bed great. The bar was bustling in the evening with business travellers, but was still very relaxing to spend time in. Breakfast was of a good quality. I will for sure now have this hotel as my first choice in Stockholm. The room doors were thick so one could hardly hear anything from outside the room. Nice L'occitane toilettries.

Room Tip: Room 520 was nice. Towards the yard and far enough from the elevator not to have a heavy traffic wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makarska75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was perfect for a weekend getaway to Stockholm. The location was amazing - close to the shopping, amazing restaurants, cool bars, and even the sightseeing. The hotel is right on the water and walking distance to almost everything. The staff at the hotel were very accomodating as well. THe hotel bar was a great spot and had a really nice vibe with very knowledgeable bar staff.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Stockholm. If I end up going back to Stockholm, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dek830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took a weekend in Stockholm with our two kids, 4 and 7. We found a family-offer through the hotel´s own web-site, including extra beds, free food for the kids in the hotel´s restaurant and breakfast (usually not included in the room-prize which is quite odd for a Swedish hotel). Upon arrival at room 421 we found quite a big room, and the kids got one teddybear each as a welcome present.
We found the breakfast really good, a wonderful homemade muesli, delicious bread and a variety no-one could complain about. One of the evenings (we stayed for three nights) we decided to eat in the restaurant at the hotel and we didn´t get disappointed. With free meals for the children the prize definately was affordable.
When visiting Stockholm Diplomat´s location is great, walking distance to the castle, old town, the big shopping streets and "Söder". Staff is attentive and rooms clean and quiet. Remember to book the "retreat" for yourself for one hour (for free), sauna, jacuzzi and gym.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linné
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Been here thanks to my GF's present, that's why I am not so sure about the price spent for the 2 nights. The hotel is in a perfect position to visit the city, really close to everywhere. We had a room very close to the bar and to the common living room, not so quiet as far as walls are definately thin. Reception service is in the average, house keeping is good even if they missed to refill with shampoo and bath gel the second day...a bit disappointing. By the way is a good compromise between price and value

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlessandroB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Diplomat and although we checked out other options this was in the perfect place for a long weekend. The hotel is clean in good state of repair and warm. Reception staff, as all staff were excellent, polite and helpful.
The rooms ( we had an inner room 329 with no view ) were very comfortable reasonably sized, perfect for our needs as we wanted to be out and about.
There is a nice bar area which serves food and breakfast but other than the bar we ate out and used the local 7 eleven for coffee and pastries, but the food looked a smelt wonderful.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Standard rooms look inwards on each other with no real view, but harbour rooms are available at a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Being over 100 years old, the Diplomat does not have the biggest rooms for business travellers but they are well organised and very comfortable. My bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed the bathroom being a couple of stairs up from the living area. Unlike the last reviewer, I found the breakfast to be plentiful and exciting. I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit juice "shots". You won't find a la carte omelette chefs standing by in Scandinavian hotels for this price like you might find in the States but it was more than satisfactory.

The staff were all friendly and professional and I especially enjoyed some banter with the bar server who served me modestly priced Samuel Adams on tab. A delightful surprise after a hectic day of sales calls. It's always nice to come to an old fashioned hotel that isn't drowning in old fashioned conceit and rigidness.

I will definitely stay here for all my future stays in Stockholm, if they will have me.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Snorri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The building itself it lovely, the communal interior in the hotel is lovely, the small as you walk in is fantastic and the staff were incredibly friendly, lovely and helpful. However, the rooms were hugely disappointing. The room itself was outdated, they didn't have coffee and water amenities, the mini bar was overpriced and the decor was retro. It had a very disappointing 'hotel' feel.
I was further really disappointed with breakfast. It was a very average, small and bland buffet. Cold meats, small selection of pastries, cereals and yogurts and eggs. A fraction of the size of other local breakfast buffets and diasappointing quality (cheap cereal) and attention to detail - nothing about it had a special touch to it at all. The dining room has a nice atmosphere though. I was further flattened that breakfast was not included in the room cost and an additional overpriced charge was taken.
It should be a fantastic hotel, but it's not unfortunately

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra S, General Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Kate,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the communal interior of the hotel and also that you felt welcomed by our staff however I am sad to hear that you did not find the standard of our rooms to your satisfaction. I am aware that some of our rooms are somewhat more “retro” looking than others however this is something we are gradually changing. In regards to your feedback on our breakfast I must say that I am surprised as this is one of the areas that our guests in general are most satisfied with.

I want to thank you again for your feedback as this is a necessity for us to better be able to identify the areas that our guests feel might need improving. I do hope that you will give us a chance to make a better second impression on you in the future.
Best Regards,

Lina Gabrielson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,201 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
622 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,351 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,722 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $205 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing