We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic unique hotel”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed at the Victory Hotel for 2 nights in July 2014. The Victory Hotel is charming and lovely, and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is part of "The Collector's Hotels" and contains all kinds of collected treasures from around the world (the Victory's theme seems to be nautical). Made for a cozy, home-like atmosphere. Located in the Gamla Stan (old town) part of Stockholm, near many shops and restaurants to walk around. Minutes away from the Nobel Prize Museum, and about 10-15 minute walk to the Royal Palace area. Some of the hotel's nice added touches included free water and juice in each room (which I so appreciated!). Comfortable beds, free wi-fi, and a full breakfast, at a very reasonable rate. Definitely recommend this place; wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DRBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Victory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the Victory in Stockholm for 3 nights, June 19, 20, and 21. It was marvelous! We chose the Captain Johansson deluxe suite, which was spacious and lovely. Actually, staying in the Victory is like staying in a boutique museum -- many amazing nautical artifacts, including ancient pipes and a letter penned by Admiral Nelson. I'm sure that many rooms are small, but I urge any travelers to splurge for the deluxe suite. It was large, including a dining table, a sitting room, a bedroom, and a very modern and pretty bathroom including a jacuzzi tub in addition to the shower. It was like having our own little apartment in Stockholm's Gamla Stan (Old Town), within walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc.
Even more great, i left a pair of my favorite sandals there. I emailed them when I got home, and asked if I had left them. They replied yes, and within two weeks they arrived in my mailbox. Wow! I would definitely recommend this hotel without qualification.

Room Tip: Captain Johansson's suite was great. We didn't see any other rooms, but this one was lovely
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Victory very much. The location is wonderful. We loved walking about Gamla Stan and exploring all the little cafes and stores. The Victory is on one of the quieter streets but not out of the way. It has a wonderful restaurant attached where we were able to eat outside and have pork barbecue on Saturday night.

Our room overlooked the restaurant, which I enjoyed. The room was small, but I have seen smaller. It did have air conditioning and Wifi worked great. The service was good. We will definitely stay at the Victory again.

Room Tip: Try to get a larger room. Facing the courtyard was nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M2inApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very nice hotel in the Gamla Stan area of Stockholm. This place is full of antiques and character. The rooms were small but clean and quiet. They had chocolate "golden dollars" for the customers that I thought was a very nice touch. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very nice hotel: full of antique pieces mostly bronze details from ships, wooden chests and etc. Located in Gamla Stan ( old town) with close proximity to all attractions, very quiet.
We had an attic room on the top floor, full of character but with a sizable modern and spotless bathroom. The breakfast was good with decent varieties of everything. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to visit the sauna.
Definatelly will be happy to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nushalarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the properties (Collector's) flat's off the mail plaza. What a great place. Large bedroom, kitchen, living room and new bath with a washer and dryer. Great food and bars all around the old town area. Central location to see all of Stockholm, many of the boat trips are two blocks away............only way to go. If you have a family it is the only way to go.

Room Tip: Get a flat that opens to the plaza
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msbrandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a well situated hotel on Gamla Stan, the old town part of Stockholm. Having used it before, about 10 years ago, we went back for the first time since my wife became wheelchair bound and stayed for 3 nights. The staff were all extremely helpful both before we arrived and during our stay with nothing being too much trouble for them. Our room was easily accessible, spacious and well equipped with a good sized en suite. There were a wide range of things to choose from for breakfast and you could have as much as you liked.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel on any further trips to Stockholm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,677 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,321 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,113 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Address: 5 Lilla Nygatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $181 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Hotel is a welcoming and exclusive hotel with a personal atmosphere in a perfect location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s charming Old Town. The fact is that the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. It contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques, passionately selected by the collector himself, the hotel's founder Gunnar Bengtsson. There are three restaurants and one bar in the hotel; Djuret (The Whole Beast), Omakase, The Burgundy and The Comfortable Bar Tweed. The breakfast has a selection of cold cuts and hot items and is served in the downstairs dining room, which also has the remnants of a defence tower from the medival city wall on display. The hotel serves complimentary coffe and tea to all their guests and to unwind you can use the Sauna and Relax area exclusively, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing