We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great in every way”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great in every way”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here for two night and had a fantastic time. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the location is perfect - right in the middle of the old city. Easy to walk everywhere. I had a room on the 5th floor with all the comforts of home. Comfortable bed with down pillows and extra blankets if needed. It was a small suite with a sitting area and extra bed. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Lots of choices from eggs to fruit to yogurt and many delicious breads. This is the second time i have stayed here and would highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: I asked for a large room with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraAnneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear SandraAnneSanDiego,

Thank you so much for your great review! We get so happy and encouraged to get so much positive feedback! We hope to see you back at Victory Hotel soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    178
    38
    19
    7
See reviews for
68
264
72
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent position for sightseeing, in the old town, near the Royal palace and cathedral. Plenty of restaurants nearby. About 15minutes walk from Central station, and in easy walking distance to the ferries/boat trips and to Sodermalm. The single rooms we had were on top floor with small window onto street and a window in the roof and were nicely furnished with modern bathroom.The bed was a bit firm for me, but that is just me. Rooms are very warm - seems to be a common thing in Stockholm as we found all restaurants, shops, etc, very warm - so we needed the window open. Excellent breakfast with fruit, cereals, pancakes, bacon &eggs, etc.

Room Tip: Of the 2 single rooms we had, room 503 had a larger bathroom with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Tog,

Thank you for your review! I hope to see you soon with us again!

Best regards from all off us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the staff were wonderful; however, the hotel is very much in need of updating. The bedrooms have a too much old furniture - not antiques, are a little dark - even with all the curtains opened, and could use additional blankets on the bed - only one in mid-October, but the bed was comfortable, the internet was easy to use, and the Jacuzzi tub made up for a lot. The best part though was the staff - everyone spoke English and they went above and beyond to be helpful with taxis, directions, recommendations and reservations, and, in particular, calling the airport numerous times a day for a couple of days to track down my luggage lost in transit - a huge thank you for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear amiezil,

Thank you for your review! Its great to hear about your experiences when staying with us and I am especially glad that you found our staff helpful and that we were able to help track your lost luggage! Regarding the hotels need for an update I happy to tell you that there are ongoing renovations being done as I write this! Hopefully you will have an even better stay when you come back!
Best regards from me and the rest of the gang at Victory Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a great time at the Victory.
Ok, we were lucky and at arrival we were upgraded to a Captains Suite, non the less I cannot quite understand why people would be complaining about small rooms, after all it is an old building in the oldest part of Stockholm. If you think this is small try some of the 4 star hotels in Paris or Rome!

The location is absolutly perfect in the old part of Stockholm
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was clean and the facilities great
The bathroom was very well stocked with toiletries
Granted, its not exactly cheap but I still think it was good value for money
Initially I was a bit concerned about the noise from the street but that was really not an issue, not even Saturday evening.

Ok, there is one or two things to improve...
- The shower could be re-tiled (I am being very picky here)
- WiFi should be encrypted and not open

I can whole heartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are two bars in the hotel. A wine bar with a great range of Burgundy wines as well as a Bistro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swissdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Swissdiving,

Thank you for your review! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorG
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having come from a very Scandinavian modern hotel in Copenhagen (First Hotel Skt. Petri), the Victory Hotel was almost overwhelming. Every available space is packed with historical shipping memorabilia, including a large model ship that sat over our bed. We stayed in a suite (“Captains Grand Cabin”) and it was fairly small, but what you would expect in an older European hotel. The bathroom could certainly have used some updating, but not so bad as to detract from the overall charm of the hotel. Even if you do not stay here, be sure to visit the Tweed Bar in the hotel. You’ll get the full nautical-theme experience and the drinks are fantastic. For us, the primary draw of the hotel was its location in Gamla Stan. While we were a bit worried that the area would be too touristy, we were pleasantly surprised about both how convenient the location was to travel throughout Stockholm and the number of quality restaurants and bars in Gamla Stan itself. While not a place I’d choose to stay for business, I will definitely return to the Victory Hotel when I am in Stockholm for vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear TorG,

Thank you for your review! I love to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also had time to visit Tweed! Regarding bathrooms they are in the process of an update, but we are only half-way through (oct 2013). So next time you visit us you will maybe enjoy your stay even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location is very good just behind the metro station and the royal palace, with many restaurants and shopping, the hotel room I stayed in was a miniature, like a giant playing mini golf, literally couldn't move in the room, yet room was for sleeping only.

breakfast wasn't wow very basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thair_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful and dignified hotel in lovely, centrally accessible area of Stockholm centered within Old Town. The hotel has a warm and charming feel, the rooms are large enough and thoughtfully furnished. Staff is attentive - thank you Janet - and the breakfast is excellent as well. This hotel is not for loud party types. Definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALJVergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,590 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,281 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
553 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Property: Victory Hotel
Address: 5 Lilla Nygatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Hotel is a welcoming and exclusive hotel with a personal atmosphere in a perfect location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s charming Old Town. The fact is that the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. It contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques, passionately selected by the collector himself, the hotel's founder Gunnar Bengtsson. There are three restaurants and one bar in the hotel; Djuret (The Whole Beast), Omakase, The Burgundy and The Comfortable Bar Tweed. The breakfast has a selection of cold cuts and hot items and is served in the downstairs dining room, which also has the remnants of a defence tower from the medival city wall on display. The hotel serves complimentary coffe and tea to all their guests and to unwind you can use the Sauna and Relax area exclusively, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing