We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but disappointing room service menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
London
2 reviews
“Comfortable, but disappointing room service menu”
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Pretty good place to stay and reasonably close to Gamla Stan for a wander. We stayed with two four month old babies and felt comfortable - must say the porter was fantastic with our luggage. The only downside was the food - we used room service and the bar downsairs and the menu felt limited.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    1,313
    579
    161
    61
See reviews for
548
868
187
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Really nice hotel in the middle of Stockholm!
Good service, and great meals!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Located just a few feet from the central bus and train terminal and the Arlanda Express train (200 kph to the main airport), we found the location nearly ideal. We arrived late at night after an hour and a half bus ride from the distant Skavsta Airport airport (where most of the discount carriers land), and the kitchen was closed. The only bar open was the pricey Skybar, which was overcrowded and understaffed.

The rooms were very efficient, clean, modern, with a business flair. Equipped with good amenities, including tea and instant coffee and a water kettle, it was very comfortable. We booked two double rooms--one for my wife and me, the other for our older teens.

The staff was friendly and helpful and very efficient, and we never felt that we were being rushed when we asked for directions and recommendations. We booked the rooms on Hotels.com and got a very good price, which included the breakfast buffet. Breakfast was elaborate, with dozens of items to appeal to just about any dietary preference. Considering that on a return back to Stockholm from Helsinki we stayed at the more spartan Adlon Hotel for about the same price and had to pay about $7.50 for a much inferior breakfast, this ended making the SAS Royal Viking a far better choice. While it's a bit more impersonal in its atmosphere than the Adlon, I found the staff friendlier and the rooms more comfortable here. My only minor criticism is that the windows looked into an inner courtyard where the giant breakfast buffet was held. On a positive note, though, it gave us better protection from the perpetual daylight during the Solstice.

It was just a short walk to the old town, Gamla Stan., but a bit of a longer walk to the Vasa Museum. We were also quite close to the restaurant and major shopping district.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themajortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Stayed two nights in Royal Viking. The best and in hindsight the only good thing was the location, which is brilliant. Bang in the middle of the city, 2 minutes walk from the airport train, tube and central station.
The lobby is cool and modern, but that's about the best you get. Our room was a disappointment: a bit worn out and the bathroom had a strange smell (probably comes from old water pipes, not pleasant). Had booked a queen bed, got twin beds. Breakfast room in a noisy area which had a really dirty carpet, atmosphere like in a staff canteen - not a relaxing experience.
Staff seemed to have quite an indifferent attitude, and when we returned to the hotel late at night we were met at the lobby by a not very friendly security guard, who insisted on seeing our key card. Not a pleasant welcome.
All in all, this place does not seem to have the qualities of a five star hotel. If I return to Stockholm I'll make sure I'll get my money's worth elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oggie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2009

During my recent visit to stockholm, i stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. It is centrally loacated, near to tube , marketplace and my office. It is the nice place to stay, the staff are very friendly in nature.

Most important is that you can enjoy the stockholm by exploring and return back to hotel even at night.

NIce place, would certainly go again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anilagarwal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I am a frequent guest at Radisson in Amsterdam so I knew what to expect. I didn't expect to be upgraded to the suite with it's own jacuzzi and sauna!! The facilities in this room were amazing - huge balcony, living room, free access to gym/swimming pool, free films, 2 TVs, etc etc. The only let down was in the bathroom which flooded every time you had a shower. EIther way, would highly recommend. The reception area was great, and the restaurant looked very trendy ( I didn't eat there). Location of the hotel is right next to the central station and very close to the sightseeing parts of the city. Breakfast was very extensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manishnandha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

For purposes of my business trip, this hotel was conveniently located as it is almost next to the Arlanda Express Train station (Express train from the Airport to Stockholm City) and only 10 minutes walk to our Stockholm offices. It is however not a hotel I will recommend for holiday purposes and, I believe, it to be a bit expensive for what you get.

The atmosphere is more business-like with views either towards buildings and the busy street or on the inside overlooking the AVIARY-like breakfast area. I’ve been here twice and both times the hotel was fully booked, mostly with business people on a conference.

Careful not to get a room too close to the elevators, though…. The bell from the elevator did wake me up during the night and early morning as people started to move about.

Beds are comfortable and amenities are adequate. The hairdryer is a bit ancient – almost just a pipe against the wall that blows out some luke-warm air….causing the pipe to be piping hot (hmmm) after about 10 min.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,397 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,450 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,178 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing