We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“Nice and centrally located”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

During my recent visit to stockholm, i stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. It is centrally loacated, near to tube , marketplace and my office. It is the nice place to stay, the staff are very friendly in nature.

Most important is that you can enjoy the stockholm by exploring and return back to hotel even at night.

NIce place, would certainly go again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anilagarwal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    1,311
    577
    160
    60
See reviews for
547
864
186
934
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I am a frequent guest at Radisson in Amsterdam so I knew what to expect. I didn't expect to be upgraded to the suite with it's own jacuzzi and sauna!! The facilities in this room were amazing - huge balcony, living room, free access to gym/swimming pool, free films, 2 TVs, etc etc. The only let down was in the bathroom which flooded every time you had a shower. EIther way, would highly recommend. The reception area was great, and the restaurant looked very trendy ( I didn't eat there). Location of the hotel is right next to the central station and very close to the sightseeing parts of the city. Breakfast was very extensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manishnandha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

For purposes of my business trip, this hotel was conveniently located as it is almost next to the Arlanda Express Train station (Express train from the Airport to Stockholm City) and only 10 minutes walk to our Stockholm offices. It is however not a hotel I will recommend for holiday purposes and, I believe, it to be a bit expensive for what you get.

The atmosphere is more business-like with views either towards buildings and the busy street or on the inside overlooking the AVIARY-like breakfast area. I’ve been here twice and both times the hotel was fully booked, mostly with business people on a conference.

Careful not to get a room too close to the elevators, though…. The bell from the elevator did wake me up during the night and early morning as people started to move about.

Beds are comfortable and amenities are adequate. The hairdryer is a bit ancient – almost just a pipe against the wall that blows out some luke-warm air….causing the pipe to be piping hot (hmmm) after about 10 min.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Very typical business hotel. Well appointed, if a little Spartan. Very nice feature in the lobby are wooden sculptural installations that when you walk by them, your body heat (I assume that's what it is) causes them to give out different colors and chimes. Different, compelling and relaxing all at once. Note that there is free WiFi throughout the hotel - important when you're on a business trip.

Helpful staff, helpful front desk. Rooms a little small (by American standards but probably average by European standards); view was pretty good (from a front room) and it's convenient to the train station and walking distance to the Gamla Stan. We did eat breakfast there three times and dinner in their restaurant once. The breakfast buffet was very good and does include a full Japanese breakfast buffet (although when we were there it appeared untouched ... guess it depends on the guest roster). The breakfast room is a little noisy though because it's within the central atrium of the hotel and all the noise echoes. The dinner restaurant is good ... food is good and service is good, although not excellent.

There was some inidentifiable construction going on in the lobby when we were there. Lots of the lobby was covered in plastic and there was lots of plastic hanging from the ceiling in the lobby ... but we never did see anyone working on anything.

There is a fitness center and pool (although since I did not avail myself of this opportunity, I cannot comment but it was nice to know it was there).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiesmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel atleast 4 times and with this you can guess that every time i make atrip to stockholm, i prefer to stay at this hotel. The hotel is centraly located with the best possible access to stockholm city center, metro and other areas of interest. The rooms are good and what i disliked was the same breakfast ( last 3 years no chage in menu :-) ), and that access to the gym is chargeable.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ajain26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We had a junior suite as we were travelling with our 8 year old daughter. The breakfast buffet was a great start to the day, particularly as we had trouble finding cafes during the day which provided food that our daughter would like! Can't speak highly enough of the staff - very welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights there. The hotel is right next to the central station which means you can catch the Arlanda Express from the airport and arrive 1 minute from the hotel entrance. The metro trains also leave from there as well (we didn't use them as everything is very walk-able in Stockholm), and its about 2 blocks from the main shopping precinct, so its a very good location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aust_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I stayed 4 nights in Stockholm at the Radisson Viking whilst attending a conference. The Radisson is very well situated for a new visitor to Stockholm as you're right in the heart of the city, and it's only 250m from teh Central station where the train from the airport arrives, to the hotel - so you can't get lost and don't need a taxi..

The breakfast in the Radisson was one of the best I'd had anywhere - the Mariott in Sydney was better (slightly) but only because it had walnuts and almonds to put on the cereal. Good choice of cereal, fruit and hot/cold food.
Also, leaving on the Sunday the restaurant didn't open till 7.30am, but staff let me in at 7.15 as I had an early flight - that was nice and appreciated.
Check in and Check out was the quickest and most efficient of any hotel - there was no queue and the whole process took about 1-2 minutes in total.

Room itself was very good and due to a mix up on ExpediaI'd booked a Superior room thinking it came with breakfast. This was my mistake prompted by a confusing page on Expedia, but when I wrote to teh Radisson they sorted this out immediately and comped the breakfaast, which was very nice.

Room itself was great - on 9th floor with a view. Quiet althought the trendy Skybar wasn only about 15m away!

Overall I thought teh radisson was good value and it was well situated for both the Conference and exploring teh city.

Stockholm itself is a lovely city but is not really tourist friendly. Normally I'd do all the Top 10 sights in 1-2 days, but in Stockholm the Palace wasn't open until 12am and then closed around 5pm. A lot of attractions have very restricted hours, so rather than waste time waiting for them to open I explored the more scenic areas on foot.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinDereDoneDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,389 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,442 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,173 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing