We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in Stockholm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #56 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent three nights here in August. The location is good (near Hop on, Hop off bus and Central Station). Our room was modern, clean, and well appointed. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. There's a lively bar on the lobby level that provides a great view to the street. I had to get a taxi to the airport at 4 a.m. and the staff arranged the ride and greeted me in the lobby. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sandra Y,

Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to write about your experience .
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel.

You also should try our SKYBAR on the 9th floor with great panoramic view over Stockholm.

We look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 3,190 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel is quiet convenient. With the arlanda express you only need 20 minutes to and from the airport. Room are outdated. Also the bathroom had a little smell. Sewage was not properly cleaned. Breakfast is ok.
For a 2 day business trip it is ok

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Rudi P,

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you were not completely satisfied with your room. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and we will discuss this input from you with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standard.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us and exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Two night stay at the end of our Swedish vacation. Location is just as everyone says, fantastic. We had a standard twin, which are the older style rooms. The decor is dated, but seemed okay to us. The room was clean and quiet. We could see the station and main road from our 4th floor window, but the thick double-glass works well. Heavy drapes keep the room nicely dark. Good A/C meant we didn't have to have an open window either.

We barely glanced at the old tube TV, but it did have a few english-language choices. Free in room WiFi was adequate but required frequent re-login. We went down to the gym to check it out, looked OK, the pool was quite tiny so we skipped that.

We got a discount AAA rate so breakfast wasn't included. It's about 4 minutes walk to a well-stocked Coop grocery in the lower level of Stockholm Central station for pastries, juice, fruit, anything you need. You can get a decent cup of brewed coffee at Dagny for 16SEK on the way back to the room. I just don't care for the instant coffee that is prevalent in European hotel rooms. Room fridge stocked w/ expensive minbar, but had space for a litre of purchased OJ and a few Coop yogurts.

Tip: if you want a washcloth (an American thing, I guess?), ask for it. If they say "the blue one?" say yes. I also noticed as we passed other rooms that some had wood (or laminate?) floors. Ours had wall-to-wall carpet which, while not exactly stain-free, was quiet. If quiet is important, request a carpeted room.

I hope the Radisson will redecorate the twin rooms soon. Considering the price, this hotel met our needs but was - like much of Sweden - a bit expensive seeming, given the room condition (especially the comically 80s bathroom!)

One more tip: the Pendletag train from Arlanda Sky City btwn Terms 4 & 5 costs SEK 125 v. 260 for the Express train from the terminals. Pendletag is every 30 mins and lakes 38-42 min one way, but its clean, convenient and less than half price - just for walking a bit at Arlanda. I liked it better than the express bus, which I've also used.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Snowman00,

Wow, what a detailed and great review! This must help a lot of people finding their way around the hotel.

As you point out, our twin rooms are in need of a "face lift" and they are next in line when we renovate again. Hopefully it will be in the close future.
Nevertheless, the most important with a hotel room is the cleanliness. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back soon with us again!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel has two types of rooms- Old world charm and newly renovated. Newly renovated rooms are excellent and very clean. Old world charm rooms seem to be cleaned by different groups of cleaning staff? We found obscene amount of pubic hair in the bathtub. Horrified we called for room change. Staff has excellent customer management skills and room was promptly changed.

Location is excellent. Next to train station and mall that caters to diff food options. Also very accessible to express train (20mins ride) and an hourly bus to airport (45mins ride but way cheaper than express train).

Def recommend this hotel for its location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thscang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear thscang,

We are as horrified as you about what you found in the bathtub...
Happy to hear you were promptly changed to another room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.

Happy to read yo enjoyed everything else during your stay with us an I hope you will give us another chance when you visit Sweden again!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really central hotel, next door to main railway station. Stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a lovely buffet breakfast, used the gym (included) and had a dring at the roof top bar, very nice.
Staff was friendly and helpful, left luggage service on departure day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muminmamma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Försäljningschef at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Muminmamma1,

Thank you so much for your great review!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Wishing you welcome back to us soon.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Excellent location - a short three minute walk from the Arlanda Express stop in central Stockholm. A good tip - if you book the Arlanda Express from the airport to Stockholm online you can make a significant saving (we saved 400kr booking a two person return in advance). This was my second visit in nine months to the Radisson Royal Viking and it meets the chain's usual high standards. Our queen bed room was smallish but quiet, clean and well-maintained with a kettle and small selection of coffee/tea/milk. Breakfast ran late until 11am on Saturday and Sunday though, despite a vast breakfast area, was incredibly busy with free, cleanly laid tables a rarity. Also be careful with the coffee/tea cups that were so hot I got a blister on my finger. If you arrive late back to the hotel there is a night security guard who will request you show your room card (make sure you show the one with the Radisson logo).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your review and the great tip how to save money by buying the return tickets in advance to Arlanda with Arlanda Express.

Your comments are valuble and we have passed on your comments and concerns to our breakfast department so they may address the situation with the hot coffee/tea cups.

It is also important to us that you fee safe when staying with us. Thats why our security guard requests to see the room card when arriving late back at the hotel.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Located superbly in the heart of Stockholm, this is probably the best thing about this hotel (and the reason why the prices are so high, when you consider the quality). My room (377) felt dark and old, had one of those massive foldable spare beds taking up a large part of it, the bathroom is very outdated with a new bathtub which didn't fit leaving a good 1-2cm gap between it and the wall (how could anyone think it was installed properly?) and the TV must have been 10 yrs old.

The bar area downstairs is completely different, modern and elegant, so maybe I just had a bad room (every hotel has them).

I won't be returning if I have any alternative option (Stockholm's hotels tend to book up rather often).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Thomas S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room.
Our hotel has a number of different room categories and the one you stayed in are our Classic rooms with wooden interior details and darker colors. Some of our guests likes it and other thinks it´s outdated.
I really hope we will have the opportunity to have you back with us and next time you can try one of our rooms with more modern, lighter interior.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,654 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
2,986 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,366 reviews
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#52 of 154 in Stockholm
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Address: 1 Vasagatan | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $111 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing