We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Very Tired Need a Refresh Also Breakfast Could Be Improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rooms Very Tired Need a Refresh Also Breakfast Could Be Improved”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Firstly, some good points the reception and overall level of service in the hotel is very good. The sky bar is a nice place to wind down and have a drink with colleagues or friends. Also the gym is pretty good for a hotel gym and it's is a part of a wider range of chains in Sweden. The location is excellent, right near to Stockholm central station and this makes most things in the city centre walkable.

On the negative side - the breakfast could definitely be improved quality wise. The juices are very watered down and the service for coffee is sometimes slow. My biggest gripe with this hotel though are the rooms. Considering the going rate for bed and breakfast at this hotel is €200 per night then the rooms can be considered very old fashioned - they need a thorough modernisation. TV's look about 15 years old and the overall look and feel of the rooms are not up to standard for what I would expect in a top class hotel, and seem out of place when compared to the bar/reception areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltravellerMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear globaltravellerMJ,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are happy you are satisfied with the overall level of service and our other facilities.
However, we are truly sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room.
Some of our rooms are still a bit "out dated" but we are updating them as much as we can to make them feel more up do date. For example, we are exchanging all tv´s into flat-screen tv´s.

Regarding the breakfast, our goal is to ensure fresh food and beverages is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to review the situation and correct any deficiencies we may have in our service.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    1,313
    579
    161
    61
See reviews for
548
868
187
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the RB Royal Viking for one amazing night and two days. Checked in at 3 pm on Sunday. Reservations were ready and we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a Business Suite with an amazing external view on the newly renovated 5th floor.

Our room suite was spacious, beds super cozy and bathroom had a wonderful shower. There was the slow-flowing oversized rainfall shower or regular handheld European shower at your choice. Floors were black marble heated floors. Design was understated elegance of Sweden with two good sized windows with blackout shades.

We received a free breakfast with our reservation. Smorgasbord of great Swedish food, including multigrain bread, homemade yogurts, lachs, pastries, even caviar. Juices were all fresh squeezed and the service amazing. I don't thin I had better service at the Dallas Ritz Carlton.

Off to the beautiful swimming pool in the morning before breakfast. It was already full at 7 am when I went to swim laps. The pool is small and great for small laps, other swimmers were considerate of each other, and I also went to dip in the "bubble pool" jacuzzi and a 10-minute dry Swedish sauna sweat.

I loved my stay here, centrally by everything and Eco-friendly.

White fluffy robe were a great soft cocoon after my shower.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KontessaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear KontessaT,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed both our quality and service at the hotel!
We look forward to your next stay and hope you will be back soon.

Kind regards
Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallensbaek Strand, Denmark
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the hotel for weekend. We had booked a superior room and had chosen the hotel due to proximity to city center as well as amenities such as swimming pool.

Our room turned out be be a large one but we had no windows to the street. Only an Internal to an atrium where breakfast was served. This I don't expect from a superior room especially when three doors away they have so called business room's that looks to be same size but in nicer surroundings. The room was clean and spacious so no complaints there.
Breakfast wasn't included but we went there the first morning. Only to meet an overcrowded restaurant that wasn't big enough for all guests. This mant that we were constantly waiting for the waiters to take out plates, fill up bread baskts, or eggs and bacon. People left becaus of the long waiting time. We went out the next day for breakfast.

Rest of the hotel is as you would expect. Good Internet connection, clean and nice swimming pool and everybody is nice and friendly.

I will not recommend the hotels due to the prcie quality where I am certain that Stockholm can do better. As for breakfast I took it as a sign of mismanagement because the food was super.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karsten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Karsten P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. Unfortunately, we did not reach your expectations in the breakfast room during your visit.

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room.
However, the Business Class rooms are smaller than the Superior rooms.

We do hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

While I can't comment on the cost (company-paid business trip), I can certainly comment on everything else, which was great.

Location-wise, it's right next to the main station, which made it ridiculously convenient. Getting to the main downtown area, as well as the old town area, is a short walk away.

The room was quite comfortable, with a good amount of space and light, and always kept clean. If it weren't for the jet-lag, I'd have had much better sleep on the nice bed.

The gym is a bit small, but has all the essentials. Doesn't seem to get too crowded, which is always a good thing.

There's a wonderful SkyBar at the top with a great view. It gets a bit loud for my taste, but those that were there seemed to be enjoying themselves. So if that's your thing, definitely check it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear paikj,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
249 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel on great location (on the central station) for business travelers but also for tourists who are not into cosy places but prefer modern, clean design and interior. Very clean, good size rooms (could be bigger) but the rooms style and size varies throughout the hotel. All the necessities are available, like kettle (very important!) to make coffee and tea. Feels secure due to need for key passes in the elevator to reach upper levels. Breakfast was good, lots of choices, even for those with allergies. Gym and the pool are very small but probably enough for for few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear LolaSweden,
Thank you very much for your time to write a review about our hotel.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing! Easy to get to if you just ask one of the stores (they were very accommodating and friendly!) The front desk of the hotel very kind, easy to check in.

The hotel itself was very clean and we had a very large room. It was set up very odd, we walked into a tiled floor, with a mirror and closet/cabinet. This sounds normal, but it was a HUGE area, without any chairs or sufficient lighting. You then walked into the bedroom area, which seemed small because of the area you just walked from? Very odd set up, but the bathroom was awesome/clean/excellent shower and bathroom. There was even a sound thing that was linked to the TV, where you could listen to whatever was on in the bedroom (I thought it was odd and awesome!) The beds were very comfortable, and in general I liked the room.

The pool area is oddly located, just ask the front desk to explain how to get there. Looks very cool, but I didn't try it out myself. Don't go into the pool area with your shoes on! It's against the rules. (but they kindly let us know haha)

I would stay here again, but I thought that the price of the room was a bit high for what you are getting. I would look at my other options before booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfran624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear jfran624,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All room categories are different in their setup and it sound like you stayed in one of our Superior rooms and they do have a large entrance with a lot of space.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed 6 nights in the Royal Viking Hotel last week and whilst the comfort of the room was fine, the layout was poor and the attention to detail by the room staff a real let down. Check in was fantastic, quick, easy and the staff were great. Once in my room however, things weren't so good. Directly outside my room was a huge bright street lamp which illuminated the room. The website says there are blackout curtains, but I was never offered one. Over the week this affected my sleep. Most days, things like cups, glasses, shower gel, shampoo weren't replaced and I had to ask for them to be brought to the room. Disappointingly, everything I used in the mini bar wasn't missed, so somebody was taking care of the profit making things, not the things that make a customer happy. Having stayed in the Waterfront in January which was brilliant, the Viking is a much poorer relative.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the bright lights of the main road at the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sutty67,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our room staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.
Did you bring the light-issue to any of our staff members attention? The black out curtains are standards in all hotel rooms and should keep all lights out if wanted.

We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,397 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,450 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,178 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing