We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

While I can't comment on the cost (company-paid business trip), I can certainly comment on everything else, which was great.

Location-wise, it's right next to the main station, which made it ridiculously convenient. Getting to the main downtown area, as well as the old town area, is a short walk away.

The room was quite comfortable, with a good amount of space and light, and always kept clean. If it weren't for the jet-lag, I'd have had much better sleep on the nice bed.

The gym is a bit small, but has all the essentials. Doesn't seem to get too crowded, which is always a good thing.

There's a wonderful SkyBar at the top with a great view. It gets a bit loud for my taste, but those that were there seemed to be enjoying themselves. So if that's your thing, definitely check it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear paikj,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    1,298
    572
    156
    59
See reviews for
540
858
185
920
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
249 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel on great location (on the central station) for business travelers but also for tourists who are not into cosy places but prefer modern, clean design and interior. Very clean, good size rooms (could be bigger) but the rooms style and size varies throughout the hotel. All the necessities are available, like kettle (very important!) to make coffee and tea. Feels secure due to need for key passes in the elevator to reach upper levels. Breakfast was good, lots of choices, even for those with allergies. Gym and the pool are very small but probably enough for for few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear LolaSweden,
Thank you very much for your time to write a review about our hotel.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing! Easy to get to if you just ask one of the stores (they were very accommodating and friendly!) The front desk of the hotel very kind, easy to check in.

The hotel itself was very clean and we had a very large room. It was set up very odd, we walked into a tiled floor, with a mirror and closet/cabinet. This sounds normal, but it was a HUGE area, without any chairs or sufficient lighting. You then walked into the bedroom area, which seemed small because of the area you just walked from? Very odd set up, but the bathroom was awesome/clean/excellent shower and bathroom. There was even a sound thing that was linked to the TV, where you could listen to whatever was on in the bedroom (I thought it was odd and awesome!) The beds were very comfortable, and in general I liked the room.

The pool area is oddly located, just ask the front desk to explain how to get there. Looks very cool, but I didn't try it out myself. Don't go into the pool area with your shoes on! It's against the rules. (but they kindly let us know haha)

I would stay here again, but I thought that the price of the room was a bit high for what you are getting. I would look at my other options before booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfran624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear jfran624,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All room categories are different in their setup and it sound like you stayed in one of our Superior rooms and they do have a large entrance with a lot of space.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed 6 nights in the Royal Viking Hotel last week and whilst the comfort of the room was fine, the layout was poor and the attention to detail by the room staff a real let down. Check in was fantastic, quick, easy and the staff were great. Once in my room however, things weren't so good. Directly outside my room was a huge bright street lamp which illuminated the room. The website says there are blackout curtains, but I was never offered one. Over the week this affected my sleep. Most days, things like cups, glasses, shower gel, shampoo weren't replaced and I had to ask for them to be brought to the room. Disappointingly, everything I used in the mini bar wasn't missed, so somebody was taking care of the profit making things, not the things that make a customer happy. Having stayed in the Waterfront in January which was brilliant, the Viking is a much poorer relative.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the bright lights of the main road at the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sutty67,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our room staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.
Did you bring the light-issue to any of our staff members attention? The black out curtains are standards in all hotel rooms and should keep all lights out if wanted.

We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A client reserved a "Business Class" room for me during a recent trip. The room was small and had no closet just four pegs with a few hangers!! There was no drawer space and little room to even set my bag on the luggage stand and open it. The phone did not work and I asked to be moved. The next room had a time closet but the desk lamp didn't work and the desk chair is so low it is useless to work at the desk. The bath room is so small that when sitting on the toilet my knees nearly touch the door, and I am not a tall person. This is not a first rate hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear LaurieStory,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We regret to hear about your disappointment in the room you received. Our Business Class rooms are mostly very high apprechiated. Nevertheless, we didn´t meet your expectations and for that we are sorry. We do have other room categories with more drawers, hangers and space for the luggage. Maybe a Superior room should have met your needs better. We also regret to hear that the maintanence not qualified as expected. We will discuss this with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards upon check-in.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to contact us so we may discuss your accommodations in detail.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
230 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Radisson Blu: the brand brings up visions of sleek, modern, state-of-the-art lodgings. The Radisson Blu Royal Viking is a different breed entirely-more dated and quirky than sleek and consistent. To be sure, some things are great about this place-a truly first rate breakfast, a weird and expensive but fun rooftop bar, and a location adjacent to the train station in the heart of town. Rooms are a bit funky-our standard room had a distinctive '90s feel with a boxy tv set and a view of the atrium. Ice-cold showers at the pool-gym discouraged use of those facilities, and service was perfunctory, if competent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear mklein818,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience when staying with us.

We have different room categories in various styles and you stayed in one of our "Classic" rooms. Other room caregories might be more sleek, modern and state-of-the-art.

Wishing you welcome back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Radisson Blu Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Really convenient for a stopover if you need to be near to the station - with both Central Station and the Arlanda Express terminus right around the corner.
This is exactly what I used it for - I had a quick fly-in-do-the-job-fly-out scenario - and it worked perfectly! (if I'd had any time to spend in the city, I would have stayed at the Rival, my favourite Stockholm hotel)
All the usual Radisson service that you'd expect - friendly and efficient staff and everything worked. Fast free WIFI, clean functional room, business centre and associated services (which I didn't use)
The public spaces downstairs atrium, lobby bar, breakfast area, etc. are interesting contemporary design, but once you get into the lift (narrow and a little awkward if you have large baggage) and the room floors then you're back in a building that’s probably been a hotel for many years and variously changed hands-and-brands.
The room (I had a 'standard') was small and definitely belonged to hotel design of several decades ago, although a surface refurbishment had modernised it considerably. It overlooked an office block.
However it was clean, offered all the essentials - minibar, tea & coffee, bath - and everything worked. Beds were comfortable and it served exactly the purpose intended.
The overnight room service was limited - and very tasty but without any presentation style at all!!! Literally a prawn wrap, packets of salt/pepper and a paper napkin!
At 1895 SEK (via booking.com) not a bad price for the convenience and location in the city centre
It's not somewhere I would want to spend any more time than a sleepover ... But I'd recommend it and use it again for similar circumstances …. and I'm sure it's also good for meetings and other short-stay criteria.
Functional and no-fuss!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Anne Louise S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and give us feedback.

We regret to hear your room service experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our Food and Beverage department so they may address this with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back even when you visit Stockholm with more time to spend in the city!

Best regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#32 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing