We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Radison stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Radison stay”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Location is very good for the link to the airport and a lot of bars and restaurants near by if you want to get out.

My room was small but functional only complaints were no power sockets near the bed to plug my phone in as an alarm clock. The light in the main room area was set to off when i arrived so fumbling about with just the light by the door trying to get the lights working near the bed the found some did not work.

Did not try the lobby restaurant or other amenities.
Breakfast was a nice selection but could have been warmer at 7am when I went down to eat.

Free internet so this allowed a bit of work in the room table light was dead

Overall needs a bit of minor maintenance in areas
but nothing that would put me off staying there again on the next business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear "Druidor",
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review.
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the lightning in your room. This should have worked and been discovered before you even checked in to the room.
We will discuss this with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards.
We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    1,298
    572
    156
    59
See reviews for
540
858
185
920
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This reasonably priced hotel is situated literally at Central Station. It means that you can just get off the train from the Airport and have a 2 min walk to the station.

We met friendly staff on arrival and despite being 12.30pm we were allowed to check into our hotel early.

The rooms need a revamp as they appear a little outdated. We did not try the food or use any of the hotels in house facilities. All in all however this is a superbly located hotel and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddaithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear "reddaithi",

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are, of course, delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellently located hotel, right by the central station and a few steps from the Arlanda Express train. I have stayed here a few times, and it always seems to be full, often its booked out too.
It’s a pretty standard Radisson, the rooms are an ok size but are pretty dated. I think some rooms don’t even have windows according to colleagues who have stayed here too! There’s always a buzz in the lobby and the bar is very busy. I have never had breakfast here so can’t comment.
I have only stayed here for business but due to its excellent location, this would be good for a city break too. All of the main city sights and shopping are very close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear "Flossykins",

Thank you for your review!

Our rooms have different kinds of looks, you have probably stayed in one of our "Classic rooms". All of our rooms have windows, some with street view and some overlooking the atrium in the heart of the hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As many others have noted this hotel is well situated near Central Station and in easy walking distance of many attractions. Spent 4 nights and had a great time.

Rooms are variable. We were initially given a worn out (but large) older room but were swiftly moved when we advised staff that the drain in the bathroom was smelly. The new room was perfect, roomy and well appointed.

The other asset this hotel is their staff. They were uniformly polite and helpful and made our stay a pleasure. They were more than happy to delay our checkout to suit us. The breakfast was also good and a bargain for Stockholm. The ambiance in the breakfast room was a little lacking in charm but adequate.

We would go back if we returned to Stockholm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear "lou37",

We are very happy to read your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the near future!

Kind regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's a business hotel, and a Radisson, so there's no "quaintness." But the hotel is beautiful, it's right next to Central Station, it's within walking distance of Old Stockholm (and everything else you'd want to see), and it has an indoor pool and gym. Very good lobby bar, great staff, a coffee shop in the lobby, and great rooms. I waited until the day before to book the room, and I got a great rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbuchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear "nbuchana",

Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to share.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again!

Best wishes,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice and comfortable hotel, perfect location beside Central station. Excellent staff with an incredible interest in helping the customer. Always nice, helpful and with a smile! I will definitly stay at Royal Viking the next time I visit Stockholm.

Room Tip: Floor 6 and upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Marlene,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Radisson Blu Royal Viking. We look forward to your next stay.


Best regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at Royal Viking for one night on a business trip.

The rooms really need a make-over. It was rather old fashioned and worn. Old bathrooms and bad hairdryer. But it was clean.

The location was fine, in the city centre right next to the central station.

The skybar was nice as well and the breakfast was really good with a wide range of ditches, although the breakfast area is cold and impersonal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear "LarsenCopenhagen",

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience.
All our room categories have different styles and you stayed in one of our "Classic" rooms, or if you prefer to call them "old-fashioned".

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#32 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Rezidor, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing