We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location can not work from here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #58 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed November 15, 2012

An OK hotel, I had a reasonable sized clean room, breakfast was OK when you could get a seat due to the restaurant being fairly small.

Wifi is AWFUL!!! You could not work from here during the day as its so slow or fails to connect! Hotel bar shuts at 2300 DEAD!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R6demon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 3,257 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Radisson Blu Royal Viking is located right next to Central Station so is an easy access point to get around Stockholm. The hotel itself is reasonable, well appointed with everything you need in your room, quiet and comfortable. Skip the hotel smorgesborg and opt for McDonalds over the road for a cheaper option. The hotel is within easy walking distance from all major points of interest including the shopping and sightseeing spots. You have the station next door to access other points of interest as well.

Room Tip: Dont waste too much time with the buffet breakfast if you can handle McD. There are lots of local co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For a first stay in Stockholm, this hotel is ideally located near the Aranda Central station and the shopping centers. and the theatre were at a walking distance. The room was small for two persons but cozy and clean. We have view directly on the Centratl Station but the room was not noisy. The staff was efficient and friendly.
The breakfast was just fantastic, with even a japanese food buffet. Awsome!

Room Tip: If two persons, ask for a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justeenpassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have decided to stay again in Radisson Blu Royal Viking hotel in stockholm solely due to their location. It is only 3 minutes walking distance from Aranda Express Station. This indeed gives a value as knowing (sometimes) Taxi in Stockholm is not a great choice to use for. Clean room but bit outdated comparing to other Radisson Blu. Breakfast is still the same as last year. not much improvement. One suggestion is with the bed.. i guess they need to upgrade the bed as to make it inline with other radisson hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Take the Arlanda express to the central railway station and walk about 200 meters and there you are. Then another 200 hundred or so meters and you are at Drottninggatan shopping area. This hotel is really easy to access.
I stayed in a renovated room on business floor which was really comfortable and included access to pool and S.A.T.S gym (wish I had brought my training clothes). The breakfast selection was wide and included Asian buffet. The hotel is a bit impersonal and nothing special, but everything for a business traveler and and could also recommend for a weekend visitors when the plan is to explore the city and have a good night sleep in a a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terhi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful spacious family room with private bedroom and bed that dropped down in main area. Excellent location next to central station & walking distance to water & main attractions. Hotel was clean with ammenities such as pool & gym. Staff was friendly. We opted for breakfast buffet which was tasty with lots of variety.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyscrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location is amazing, right by Central Station in the centre of the city so you can get off the Arlanda Express and be inside the hotel in about three minutes. As I walked into the hotel I thought it was impressive and modern but then check in was a sad miserable disheartening affair. Lots of people queuing and only a couple of people registering guests. When I got to the front of the queue the man looked across to the other queue as if they might have been waiting longer which they had not. The guy serving was so negative and downbeat, I felt very unwelcome. My room I had been given was a twin and as a big bloke over 6ft and 100kgs I really need a bigger bed. So I had to go back down again, queue again and whilst they did change it for me again it was without a smile or warm word. The room like many in this large hotel has a window that does not face the outside but into a large internal atrium over the breakfast area. So when I opened my curtains in the morning just down below two stories were dozens of people eating. It is a strange and claustrophobic experience to be in these rooms. As a last point on the front desk staff, I have never been in such a large hotel where you only see one person on service very often, strange with their hundreds of guests. The wireless was frankly rubbish too, I could connect to the routers but it never offered me a login page. I did mention this to an uninterested member of staff on the check in desk without much help being offered. It was like that for four days so I ended up paying for data roaming service on 3G.

Onto some positives, the bed was amazingly soft and with giant pillows that were very comfortable, they provided tea and coffee and there was a well-stocked mini bar that was too overpriced. The breakfast at around 100 Kronor was amazing value, half the price of similar hotels in London and with a massive selection. It is very very busy in the morning though with perhaps 100 tables occupied in several rooms, get there early for a more relaxing experience. The staff in the lounge bar were always nice and friendly and in fact I overpaid by mistake passing too many notes and the barman kindly pointed out what had happened when he could have ripped me off, great friendly service ! I had a swim and used the sauna several times, a word to the shy though, the Scandinavians are much more relaxed with nudity than we are so the saunas are naked.

So some over all some positives and some negatives.

Room Tip: Pay more so that you don't have an internal facing room, I found it very claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#27 of 155 in Stockholm
3,699 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 155 in Stockholm
3,059 reviews
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
3,835 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Address: 1 Vasagatan | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $126 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing