We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay which went wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Expensive proposition but the value was nothing short of disaster. Rooms were horribly small and unbelievable that I literally stayed in a match box for 17 days. Simple things like iron was not working and refilling of coffee was poor. Location of the hotel was fantastic and could not have asked for more but terrible experience staying. Restaurants had very little options and some one wants to eat something else then go elsewhere. Booked this hotel with a lot of excitement but came disappointed after paying a lot for the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhemchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear guest,

we are so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here at our hotel. We always wish our guests to leave the hotel with a smile and what you explain here is not how we want our guests to think of us.
We would like to have you here as guests again and get a chance to give you a better experience.
Do not hesitate to contact me by email, maria.strand@radissonblu.com so that we can arrange something for you.

Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here only for one night during a business related trip. Bright, nicely decorated room. Modern bathroom. Wifi free of charge and hassle free. Great location opposite Strandvägen - just a quick walk to Gamla Stan (the Old Town), or 10 minutes to the city centre. Very friendly staff. The only non-positive comment to make: our room was in need of some refurbishment -- to many scratches everywhere, black marks on walls and doors etc. Nothing to complain about -- it just looks a little bit used.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel and for taking the time to share it on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked 3 nights as part of a package over the Easter break. Billed as a 5 star hotel but Although it clearly has had a makeover, parts of the hotel still look quite dated and the bathrooms don't seem to have had the facelift - see photos. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helped us book restaurants and give us some good recommendations. Concur with others on the location - it's really well located for the old town and the newer city as well as skepps Holmen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you really liked our location, the seaview is amazing and as you wrote we are a perfect start point for tourists who are planning to see all the attractions in Stockholm. We are proud to tell that we are renovating all our suites right now, we hope that you can come back to us and experience them after the makeover!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

+ Location, location, location! 15 min walk to all major attractions in Stockholm city centre
+ Good parking facilities in nearby area

- Bad hygiene in brakfeast area
- Room not cleaned properly
- Noisy room (Noise from the corridors highly audible)
- No extra toilet paper rolls
- Room maid forgot to replace wine glasses
-No extra towel for bathroom floor (Water shield in shower did not cover properly)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredrikJakobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for staying with us and for sharing your opinions! We always strive to improve our hotel and our service and we really appreciate that you have specified your feedback. That help us a lot!

If you would like to get in contact with us again, do not hesitate to send an email to tripadvisor.strand.stockholm@radissonblu.com

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Decided to stay at this hotel which is located in my city of residence. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, room service was prompt, the Caesar Salad was extremely good, check in was simple, check out was easy. Had a wonderful little mini vacation in my own city! The only minor irritation was that we ordered a late checkout by 2 hours and within that time, housekeeping tried to get into the room 4 times! (Someone at the front desk should have notified housekeeping that the room was still occupied).
Well worth a stay. . .even if you live in Stockholm!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. Well worth the upgrade of 300 swedish crowns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tique222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your comments here on Tripadvisor! How wonderful to have a little vacation in your own city! We are happy to hear that you chose us as your second home in Stockholm and that you had a nice experience. Our apologies for the disturbance before you checked out, the communication between the front desk and housekeeping should have been better. Thanks to your feedback we can learn from the mistakes.

Hope to see you soon again for another little vacation in your home city!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a terrific short stay at the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel in Stockholm. Hotel is small and charming - feels like a boutique hotel. Location on waterfront is perfect with good walking proximity to tourist sites like Gamla Stan and Vasa Museum. Staff was exceptionally pleasant. Breakfast buffet was wonderful with ample offerings at a great price. Would definitely recommend!

Only drawback: Rooms are nicely appointed but very small.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie_In_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you had such a good stay here with us. As you wrote, the location of the hotel is excellent when you want to explore the city. Hopefully you can come back for a longer stay here another time!

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Not a 5 star hotel, rather a very good 4 star one. Location is absolutely superb for both business and pleasure. External and internal architecture is also impressive. Breakfast is available from as early as 06:30 and very good. The best feature is the staff, who shine with their friendly and helpful attitude. On the downside, standard rooms are small and lack in storage space, although well equipped, including free WiFi, fully stocked minibar, flat screen tv, comfortable bed and bathroom with heated floor. Also, there's no gym or spa in-house, and doing a morning exercise requires a 5 minute hike up the road at sub-zero temperature to a local private gym (albeit a very impressive one).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nachto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to respond on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and it makes us happy that you think we're a great choice. I will send your positive comments forward to our staff to make them keep on shining! I can understand that you felt it was a bit cold to start your mornings with a walk to reach the gym, however we are glad to have the possibility to offer such a good and close fitness center to our guests since we don't have a hotel gym.

Hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,626 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,176 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#26 of 154 in Stockholm
3,655 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm

Address: 9 Nybrokajen | Box 16396, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $160 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CREATING THE HEART OF THE MOMENT Offering exceptional accommodation overlooking the city's beautiful waterways and harbor, the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm is a superb lodging choice in the Swedish capital. The iconic hotel is undergoing a transformation, to become a contemporary lifestyle hotel for both international guests and local visitors. Together with the acclaimed architectural agency Wingardhs, we renew all rooms and suites. Scandinavian stylish design meets rich history, dating back to 1912, when the hotel first opened the doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing