We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the low price.”
Review of Stockholm Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stockholm Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really cleanly, cosy, quiet, and very cheap when we compare it to Swedish prices. Tv and a bathroom in standard is a big advantage. Staff was very friendly, and they were ready to help you with any question you've had, but they wasn't always on the reception, ready to take our room key, or to give it back (when we came back from the city). We've been worried if we'll be able to check out, but they always leave a card asking to call them on telephone number, ensuring they'll be back in a minute. It was also a little bit noisy at night, the doors are not soundproofed at all. In the end we have no problem with checking out. I would recommend this hostel with a big pleasure.

Room Tip: If you can you should ask for a room far away from reception. It is really noisy there during a nigh...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakub B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclas F, Owner at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hi Jakub,

Thank you for your message! I´m so sorry that you had to wait a bit for your key when no one were in the reception, sometimes we run around in the hostel helping guests with different stuff or clean the kitchen. But I´m really happy that your total experience of the hostel was great :-)

We hope to see you here in the future :-)

Best regards,

Niclas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Stockholm Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our group (4 adults)were looking for a cheap, well positioned hostel for a 3 night break which we found. The hostel is clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the room was tiny. The hostel was pretty full when we booked and I think to get a bit extra money the hostel squeezed two bunk beds into a room for one. There was no room to move about and the clothes and cases storage consisted of one chair and four coat hanger left on the bed rails. I would have preferred to be told that the hostel was fully booked so we could have tried somewhere else livable. One of our group actually left after the first night and booked into a nearby hotel. We were told that by law the windows are not allowed to be opened but our friends hotel had opening windows?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keefteef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclas F, Owner at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your message! Im sorry to hear that you got a small room. We have heard this before and right now we are actually taking some beds out of the rooms - just to make more space since some guests have mentioned this problem to us. The windows have to be looked because its no sprinklers on the upper floor, only on the ground floor. That is what the fire rule is about. Maybe your friends hotel had sprinkler inside his/her room?

I hope you will return some day so we can make it up for you :-)

Take care and have a nice evening!

Best regards,

Niclas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hostel not knowing that the rooms have no windows, this might not be true of all the ruins, but I think at least half. Usually I'd expect somewhere with no windows to be cheaper. In the end it didn't really matter, the rooms are well ventilated and we slept very well. The service is great and I would stay there again, I just wish they were more up front about the lack of windows.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

1st time staying in a budget hostel where you shared dining area and all kitchen utensils among all hostel guest. A great experience, There are 3 fridges for you to keep your stuffs but make sure you leave a name tag on it. 1 vending machine selling drinks and toothpaste/brush etc. 1 coffee machine charging 20SEK. Dining area have sitting area tWhen we arrived, Robin at the front desk is very helpful and friendly. o watch TV.
Our room is clean. This is the 1st time we need to rental bed linen, pillow cover etc making our bed. a bit fun. I think this is a hostel suitable for all younger people especially for those on budget. The hostel is simple yet clean. We are told to leave key in hotel when we are out for sightseeing aos no worry of losing it. You will need a passcode to enter the hostel too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in the hostel for two days. There's wifi and the bath is pretty clean. These are the only pro in my opinion. The room are too small! you can't even move inside it. The morning at 8 you don't have hot water since everybody are using it ( this was the answer of the reception). You cannot even drink a beer in the kitchen! the bad sheets are required but you have to pay to have it!!! I really didn't like this hostel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domenico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclas F, Owner at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Domenico,

Thank you for you responce! Im sorry that you got a small room, tell us next time and we will make sure that you get a bigger and nice room. About the water the information you got was wrong from the staff - there was a communal construction work that day and the whole neighborhood were out of water during 3-7 hours :-/

We are very strict about the "non alcoholic policy" to keep a nice and peaceful atmosphere inside our hostel. The basic business idea of Stockholm Hostel is to get people to sleep good, let them cook their own meals in the kitchen to save money and just have a nice vacation. We have tried to run the hostel without this rule for many years but it didnt work because people thought it was ok to drink heavily and do the harlem shake until 5am in the morning... Since we started with this rule we actually, believe it or not, get loads of great feedback from 99% of our customers :-)

All the best and have a nice evening!

Niclas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is cheap in compare with the prices of Stockholm. The hotel have a good location and have a good kitchen for cook your food and save your money ;)

The rules of the hotel are very heavy you can't enter alcohol drinks inside the hostel and if you doing it they can punish you with a very expensive penalty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi_Bana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Has a kitchen with all stuff for cooking and two fridge and a freezer (sometimes you can find free food from previous guests ;)
Staff was nice
Has a kitchen with all stuff for cooking and two fridge and a freezer (sometimes you can find free food from previous guests ;)
Close to ICA, COOP, super markets
WIFI available in rooms

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidin594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,121 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 67 in Stockholm
1,137 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 67 in Stockholm
384 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#7 of 67 in Stockholm
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockholm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockholm Hostel

Address: 15 Alstroemergatan, Stockholm 112 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $72 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stockholm Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm Hostel is probably the most modern and tailored hostel in Sweden with a private bathroom in every room. We strive to deliver the best hostel experience in Stockholm and give you most value for money. We have 29 rooms. Everyone features flat screen television, internet access, comfortable beds and a unique design bathroom. The rooms range from 2 beds to 6 beds/room. We got a big beautiful social area in the centre of the hostel for people to meet each other. A big spacious kitchen for cooking any type of food. The location is just perfect. Restaurants and bars are around the corner as well as buses and subways. Shopping centre 50 metres away. According to our guests the best feature we got is our high service minded staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stockholm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing