We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hostel but could do without the sexist signs”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Interhostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Interhostel
Melbourne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“OK hostel but could do without the sexist signs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Interhostel is in a great location and is relatively clean with friendly staff. It also has a fully functional kitchen which is handy for the budget traveller, since eating out can be expensive in Sweden.

However, the signs throughout the hostel were really off-putting for me as a female traveller, especially since the toilets were shared. Eg, a sign that says 'sexual harrassment will not be reported, just 'graded'' is not funny, and combine this with being approached by sleazy men in the bathroom and you can imagine that I was not entirely comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jupey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    102
    92
    35
    49
See reviews for
9
41
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hostel is in a brilliant location, right in the centre of Stockholm. The rooms are clean and alright, though some of them don't have windows, which is a bit dismal. The beds are comfortable, although very close together. There is a nice communal area which is fun and friendly, although we did get a security guy come and tell us to be quiet when we were talking at night, which was a bit unfair seeing as we weren't being very loud. Its more of a chilled out hostel rather than a lively one, but there is a good atmosphere even so. The toilets and shower facilities are excellent. There are also cooking facilities, free coffee (it's not very good though) and a TV in the communal area, and some computers with internet available. The staff speak perfect English. A great hostel to stay at if you're travelling in a group of friends, or if you'll be spending most of your time out and about and just need a place to crash.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I chose this hostel for its price and location: I have to admit it is really convenient located, only 10 min walking from Central station and just few meters from main shopping area, you can really easly walk around without taking a bus (but really need to be prepared to walk alot!!!!). Location it's really the only positive aspect about this place!!!!I booked a bed in a 6-bed dormitory: didn't have great expectations, but really couldn't image how bad this could heve been!!!A room that would probably be fine to host 2 beds, had 6, with no windows, no smoke detector, no ventilation system and no place at all to move!!Beds were just at 30 cm one from eachother and the only thing they provide it's just a locker per person. There is no other place you can put your personal belongings!!Common areas were just a pair of stools in the main corridor and a completely messed up kitchen which was not a private area but just the necessary way to get to the rooms!You can purchase bed linen at 50 sek: I highly recommend you to bring your own linen because it was evident that those stuff were not well cleaned, you could just smell that!!
I would definately pay a little bit more to get at least the basic!!I only recommend this place if you travel with your friends and share the room with them and only for a short break: I think it's really hard to stand this place for more than 2 nights!!!!!!
I've been quite disappointed because I read many good reports about this place and Stockholm it's a city that can definately offer better place than a burial niche for 25 sek a night!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

..but at what's probably the cheapest bed in central Stockholm, you can't really complain! Clean, comfy rooms, great location, and despite earlier reviews, very friendly & communal! Depends who's there at the time, I guess.
There's also free computers & wi-fi, cheap drinks & snacks available, linen & towels are a reasonable 50 & 20 SEK respectively, and mildly sexist posters to amuse or outrage.
Overall, lovely hostel in a lovely city!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

If you're looking for a fun and sociable hostel then this probably isn't for you. It is cheap by Stockholm standards and in a good location but it's very plain. The room we stayed in for 6 people was very cramped and there was no window which made us feel very claustrophobic. It was absolutely boiling (meanwhile the weather outside was freezing) so we had to use a loud fan all night. There were large lockers accessible to all in the hostel room but you have to bring your own padlock. The beds were very creaky so everytime the person above you moved it was very disturbing. The kitchen was good- nice sitting area and there were 3 fridges all extremely packed. The showers and toilets were clean and there is free internet. The luggage room is also free. I did really like the hostel but there is no bar and everything is very plain so it's not really like a youth hostel which means we didn't really have the chance to talk to anyone like we did in other hostels. The staff were very helpful and spoke impeccable English (much like all Scandinavians!) Would recommend but probably wouldn't go back again myself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

It was really nice when I checked in because the receptionist told me I as upgraded in smaller dormitory! The room was comfortable. All the furniture was from Ikea and it was really a good bed where I slept very good! If I go back to Stockholm, I will stay in Interhostel for sure!

BUT...one thing I didn't liked was the smell in the room when I arrived! With another backpacker, we had to open the door to clean the air! It was impossible to open the window.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takayukibru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

I'm Viliam from Slovakia and I visited this hostel in February 2011 with a friend of mine. It was my first and definitely not my last stay at this hostel. The staff there was very helpful with good language skills, our room was clean and warm, the beds were very comfortable, I slept really well :). Showers and toilets were clean with hot water 24/7. Unfortunately, we stayed in a room without windows but that is to be expected since it is written on their website. It has also a great location, only 10-minute walk from Gamla Stan and 10-minute walk from nearest supermarkets. And probably the most important thing since I'm a student - it's the cheapest hostel I've found in the centre of Stockholm for two people interested in little privacy (double private room). I'd definitely recommend this hostel to a friend of mine or to everybody who wishes to stay in Stockholm and hasn't got that much money to splash it out on other hostels. And they also have a Wi-Fi internet connection.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilczo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Norrmalm
Birka Hostel
Birka Hostel
#22 of 62 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#12 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#7 of 62 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interhostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interhostel

Property: Interhostel
Address: 46 Kammakargatan, Stockholm 111 60, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Interhostel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free coffee and tee offered to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Interhostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing