We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, fun place to stay, overall not great but good enough”
Review of Nobis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nobis Hotel
Ranked #21 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, fun place to stay, overall not great but good enough”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently stayed for three nights in a standard king room. Overall, I would recommend Nobis Hotel with a few reservations. I'm aware that hotel staff reads and comments on these postings. I hope that my criticism will be helpful--and entertaining--to both hotel management and future hotel guests.

With just two full days for Stockholm sightseeing, museums and shopping, it was crucial to stay in a central spot. Nobis Hotel's location was ideal. As big fans of contemporary Scandinavian design, we loved the lobby and the interior courtyard lounge. We were less in love with the small size of our room, but several reviews on this site had prepared us for it, so at least it came as no surprise. We dealt with it by unpacking and packing one at a time while the other went out for a walk--there simply wasn't enough space for two to do it at once without stepping on each other's toes. (The other option would have been for one of us to hide out in the decent-sized bathroom.)

The staff was very helpful in a matter-of-fact (dare I say typical Scandinavian?) way. Don't expect flashy smiles and apologies for every little thing that's not perfect. Like my room key card that stopped working three times and had to be re-programmed--the front desk simply explained that these cards contain very sensitive computer chips. (And how could I argue with that?) Reservations like an early-morning taxi back to the airport, check-in and check-out were handled with the greatest efficiency possible. The hotel aims to provide unobtrusive, high-quality service and that's what we got, with an emphasis on the unobtrusive.

There was a don't-sweat-the-small-stuff vibe to the hotel. The answer to thumping music from the square in front on the hotel on a Friday night, our last night, was in the bathroom's vanity kit: ear plugs. (The music must have been a weekend phenomenon--we hadn't noticed it the two nights before.)

For a hotel focused on smart design, there were a few interesting shortfalls that were actually amusing. What's up with the hole-riddled tray placed on top of the bathroom sink that splashed water all over the place when we turned on the faucet? And how come the glass soap tray in the shower didn't have drainage, so that it looked like a little bird bath with shampoo and shower gel bottles floating in the water after every shower?

In the fitness area, I was impressed by a decent selection of equipment and a large, attractive steam room. Then I nearly fell off an unsteady, mushroom-shaped stool when I sat down to dry my feet in the shower area. (This all made me feel like a senior citizen who discovers his first boutique hotel.)

The breakfast buffet was a mixed bag. At about US$ 25 per person, the price tag was about what we have come to expect, especially in pricey places like Stockholm. The selection of freshly-squeezed juices was impressive. But, for the price, it would have also been nice to see a few more high-end items, like smoked salmon (for a dose of fishy flavor, tiny tubes of Kalles smörgåskaviar had to suffice.) The breakfast buffet area itself is narrow and was crowded so that bleary-eyed guests constantly bump into each other as they try to figure out what to heap on their plates. This all was made much more bearable by the patient, friendly, and once-again efficient wait staff that made its way through the crowd to serve coffee and clear plates.

To sum it up:

Service: Matter-of-fact and efficient
Value: Pretty good, especially since Stockholm is a pricey place
Sleep quality: Bed was OK, noise from the square below on a Friday night called for earplugs and Xanax
Cleanliness: Couldn't have been better
Location: Perfect
Room: Small

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alywaysplanningatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nobis Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Alywaysplanningatrip,

Thank you for that very detailed review!

I am very thankful for your comments and rest assured we are taking them all into consideration. Considering the many room categories we offer, hopefully there is something for everybody. Our Small Single rooms fits perfectly for a traveller looking for a more compact living in a great location with all the high lights of Stockholm around the corner. Our Superior Room, Deluxe Room, One Room Suite, Corner Suite and other suites might be suitable for couples, families or travellers that require a more spacious living.

The tray over the sink in the bathroom is a beautiful design piece that is loved by many and questioned in regards to functionality by some. That is the beauty of design but we are of course happy to remove it during your stay should it be preferred. I will look into the mushroom-shaped stool you mention!

Again, many thanks for your feedback, it's a very important tool for us in order to continously improve our hotel and our service towards our patrons.

Hoping to have you back soon and then without a bird bath in the soap tray!

Regards,

Andreas Cavallius
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    443
    139
    47
    15
See reviews for
173
483
69
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights recently, and had a great time. the location is excellent, rooms and toiletries are lovely too. the staff are very friendly and helpful, and everyone's English is perfect!
avail of the breakfast deal if you can, it's a feast. the bar is very trendy, but pricey, like everywhere else in Stockholm. would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room high up facing onto the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nobis Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Eliza,

Thank you for your feedback!

Glad you enjoyed your stay and our Orla Kiely products which I presume you recognize from back home? Our breakfast is one of the high lights with sausages, eggs etc. from the island of Gotland.

Looking forward having you back at Nobis Hotel soon!

Regards,

Andreas Cavallius
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for three nights and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. Every single member of staff we encountered went the extra mile to make our stay pleasant and they all struck that tricky balance between being friendly and helpful without being overly familiar.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, stylish and very well located for the metro, busses and trams; we were also able to walk to many restaurants and attractions. The beds, pillows and bed linen are extremely comfortable, it was very nice to receive two bottles of water each night in our room.The bathroom toiletries are really lovely and the shower is fantastic.

It is true that the breakfast room is in a basement but it felt very pleasant to us and the buffet was plentiful and of excellent quality (my elder son loved the smoked venison) however all our requests for items not on the buffet were met with the same 'can do' attitude we came to expect from this hotel's outstanding staff.

The public areas are peaceful and comfortable, while we were there the hotel lent us an iPad and there is also an iMac which we used to print our boarding passes. We used the well equipped gym which was very quiet, we thought the chilled bottles of water here were a nice touch. The sauna wasn't very warm but we very much enjoyed the steam room.

It is true that the rooms are compact but ours were adequate for our needs on a short break and very quiet, the climate control worked well. Perhaps if size is what matters to you most this won't be the best choice of hotel for you, we were perfectly comfortable and don't spend a great deal of time in the room anyway.

We have stayed in many five star hotels this one was right up there ticking all the boxes for those things which are important to us on a city break and was very good value with the 3 for 2 offer we booked with.

NB if you are sightseeing do buy the Stockholm card it's great value.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and the room allocated to our sons was a deluxe although we did not ask for this (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lentil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nobis Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your extensive and positive review!

It's great reading your comments and I have already shared them with my team. They are all thrilled to receive such lovely feedback, especially the House Keeping team that is not as often in direct guest contact and therefore sometimes not highlighted as much for the great job they do.

Glad we could tick all of your boxes and looking forward having you back soon!

Regards,

Andreas Cavallius
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Nobis for a weekend. The location is simply perfect, right at the epicenter of the city, from which you can visit landmarks and museums, shop, stroll by the waterfront, etc.
The room was very comfortable (although the single room where I stayed was really on the small side and was a little too dark for my taste, as it faced an inner courtyard -- this wasn't a big deal given that I was not hanging out in the room much during the day).
The staff of the hotel is friendly, stylish and super helpful.
One highlight of the stay was bumping into Kanye West in the lobby, as he was giving a series of concerts in the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mardochee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, Manager at Nobis Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mardochee,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to give us feedback!

Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful capital. Hopefully you can try one of our other categories with city or sea view at your next visit.

Looking forward having you back, you never know who you will run in to at Nobis Hotel next time....

Regards,

Andreas Cavallius
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Extremely well located with a great terrasse this is the perfect non touristy hotel in Stockholm
The amenities are perfect and the design is very stylish without being stuffy.
Highly recommend it to anyone who wants to discover this city away from the traditional big hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisep257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, Manager at Nobis Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Louise,

Thank you for your review!

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Orla Kiely amenities has received a lot of positive feedback from our guests and so also our terrace towards Norrmalmstorg Square. Stockholm is always worth a visit but sitting in the sun during summer enjoying the weather is difficult to beat!

Hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Andreas Cavallius
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed for one night only sadly, as this is a great hotel. Good location, right in the shopping area. The staff were amazing, very helpful, especially when their internet system went down! Lovely rooms, although mine was tiny, it was still nice.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, Manager at Nobis Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review!

Happy you enjoyed your stay and our hotel even though we had a challenge with internet during your visit. A fire at our internet provider affected a large part of the city including us so the team did their very best to assist our patrons. We are now up and running again so next time you visit, you can enjoy our otherwise very fast internet!

Regards,

Andreas Cavallius
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wow! From check in to check out this Hotel can't be faulted. Unfussy Swedish design compliment the hotel tucked in its upscale neighborhood. The rooms are beautiful, marble bathrooms, design lighting and beds that are so comfortable you don't want to get out of bed. For a small hotel it has a surprisingly good gym with added sauna and steam room. If your rate doesn't include breakfast - don't worry the hotel breakfast is not expensive (compared to other hotel breakfasts) and is worth it in quality and choice. Drinks at the uber cool atrium cocktail bar are also a must, as is a glass of perfectly crisp rose at the outdoor bar looking into the square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, Manager at Nobis Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review! Summertime in Stockholm is a real experience with its warm, bright summer evenings and we are happy to have our outdoor terrace available. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to have you back at Nobis Hotel soon!

Regards,

Andreas Cavallius
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nobis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nobis Hotel

Property: Nobis Hotel
Address: Norrmalmstorg 2 - 4, Stockholm 111 46, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nobis Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm’s new contemporary hotel. Occupying a prime spot at Norrmalmstorg square, the single most central and attractive location in downtown Stockholm, Nobis Hotel is an independent, 201-room first class hotel. Nobis Hotel is a new center stage of Sweden’s Royal Capital, defining our own personal sense of luxury — one that is modern, elegant and extremely comfortable, but also ethically sound, warm and moderate, providing our guests with true value for their money in a stylish and pleasant setting designed by award-winning architects Claesson Koivisto Rune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nobis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing