We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cool place to stay in Stockholm, if only the rooms were bigger”
Review of Nobis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nobis Hotel
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The cool place to stay in Stockholm, if only the rooms were bigger”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to Stockholm on business, and this is my hotel of choice. Well located, impeccable service, and exceptionally cool design. If only the rooms were big enough to allow you to walk around the bed, all would be perfect. I understand the hotel is a conversion of an old office building, hence the miniscule rooms. There's a lot to like about the rest of the hotel though. The atmosphere in the restaurant and bar is young and chic, the food likewise. I always go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    447
    141
    48
    15
See reviews for
175
488
69
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were shocked and utterly dismayed at first sight of our room (#220) we had exactly 9 sq feet of open space in the room! This is no exaggeration! We had a small closet that could not open all the way because it hit the bed. There was a queen size bed, and a desk. We had to climb over the bed to get to the closet that couldn't open all the way. You could sit on the toilet in the bathroom and lean over to wash your hair in the shower. We felt caged! And we were because the hotel refused to move us. All this for thousands of kroner per night. We can't wait to leave tomorrow morning and say good riddance to the nobis.
Sincerely
M mcclellan

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alassio, Italy
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Very well located, over a pretty, small and central square, near the waterfront (one of the many) and a few minutes walk from the Royal palace and the Old Town. Recently restructured, with design choices proudly explained in a book available in the room, which will make an architect interested (but not me...). In short, it has a very contemporary feel with 'designer' solutions all over. Sometimes this means 'minimalism'...
Nice and efficient check in, with the welcome plus of a free upgrade from the queen to the king size bedroom. This does not make it a large room though... It is probably 15 sq mt, the bathroom also small but well designed, so that the shower is actually spacious.
Very satisfying breakfast buffet, with plenty of 'bio' foods, juices, milks... The warm choice is limited though, so if you are after a standard full English type breakfast you may not be as enthusiastic.
Overall it is high standard, however here are a few small negatives: Limited room and cabinet space, so that if you have large suitcases (we didn't) they will be somewhat in the way. Just one central elevator (plus another difficult to find) causes fairly frequent long waits. The aircon in the room is a little loud and while you can control the temperature, there does not seem to be a way to change fan speed or turn it off. The blind curtains are actually not completely opaque, and in the Nordic midsummer this will mean some light filtering through almost all night. Modest choice of international TV channels. Surprising design error in fitting the minibar fridge in the same wooden cabinet used for clothes and the safe. This means that the temperature inside the cabinet is probably 35 or 40degC, so that minibar sweets, chocolates etc are always close to melting point... Wonder about their shelf life too.
Staff really work hard to please. It is a very good choice and (in the context of an expensive city) good value overall. If you are after a good rate, compare your usual booking sites to the hotel's website... Here for the same bottom price we found a package with breakfast included.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very Well located, right in the centre. Rooms are fantastic with many nice details. Very personalized and helpfull service in reception, gave wonderful recommendations about restaurants and places to visit. Food is Top class and has lobby Bar with great atmosphere. For sure will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaoPC-Cascais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have over the years stayed at several hotels in Stockholm and this one comes up as one of the best overall particularly when you consider its location being within close to everything, except maybe the Central Railway Station which is a 5minute taxi ride away.
At first I was a little concerned about having chosen one of their Standard Queen rooms but it was plenty big enough for my two night stay over a weekend. I was given room 661 which is on the top floor and had a fantastic view over the park, harbour and city. The only caution I would give to light sleepers is that there are two big night clubs (China and Berns) just across the park from the hotel which means loud music till the early hours of Sunday morning.
Breakfast is your typical Swedish buffet style that would appeal to most tastes but, there is always pancakes and scrambled eggs and bacon for those not appreciating the Swedish breakfasts.
The hotel has both an Italian restaurant and bistro which always looked busy but I did not try them and instead opted for one of the nearby Swedish restaurants. I did enjoy the excellent bar and lounge in the internal court yard.
I also enjoyed the Gym and steam room
In summary I can say that this hotel is a really good blend of classic and modern designs and I would definitely choose the Nobis Hotel on my next visit to Stockholm

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th Floor overlooking the park and city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excelent location.
Loby is very nice and the bar is amazing.
Room size is OK but with very modern deco.
Friendly staff .
The restaurant was almost OK, chief really should improve the meal.
Amazing country and very very friendly people

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinoZanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Starting with a positive feedback: location is great, staff super friendly and attentive. Room size is ok, not the biggest but is above average (compared with Paris and London), nice decor as expected from a hip Swedish hotel, comfortable bed with crispy white bed linen.Now...moving to the less positive- prior to our arrival, I have requested via email as both my partner and myself are very light sleepers to reserve a room on the highest floor (which they did) not facing the main road or square (which they didn't) and far from the lifts (which they did), I have received a respond back that they cant promise but will do their best. Due to the room facing the square the first night turned into a nightmare as the pumping sound of techno music from club next door- literally across the street- was shaking the walls of the room till 4am. We have spoken to the nice lady at reception at 1am, she was very sympathetic and totally aware of the noise but said she is used to it by now. The music finished at 4am- I will mention that the club operates on a daily basis not just on weekends. On top of it two teenagers on our floor came back to their rooms at 4am completely drunk and very loud at that moment it totally felt like we are staying in a very expensive youth hostel. Another huge problem that there are no shutters or curtains in this specific room just a roll down blind that let the light in from the sides. In the morning we have asked to speak to the manager, Andreas. He straight away apologised for the incident, didn't charge us for that night and moved us to a room facing the court yard. Even though you could hear the music(not as load) we have managed to sleep much better. Andreas was great and professional through out our stay and kept asking to our well being and even left us a nice note and scented candle for the inconvenience. Top tip: staying in the rooms facing the court yard and bring ear plugs if techno music isn't your scene.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
518 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,491 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,446 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nobis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nobis Hotel

Property: Nobis Hotel
Address: Norrmalmstorg 2 - 4, Stockholm 111 46, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nobis Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm’s new contemporary hotel. Occupying a prime spot at Norrmalmstorg square, the single most central and attractive location in downtown Stockholm, Nobis Hotel is an independent, 201-room first class hotel. Nobis Hotel is a new center stage of Sweden’s Royal Capital, defining our own personal sense of luxury — one that is modern, elegant and extremely comfortable, but also ethically sound, warm and moderate, providing our guests with true value for their money in a stylish and pleasant setting designed by award-winning architects Claesson Koivisto Rune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nobis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing