We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fotografiska

Fotografiska
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.12*
and up
Stockholm Pass
Ranked #5 of 297 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fotografiska is a vital centre for contemporary photography in the heart of Stockholm. The museum is a popular meeting point not only because of its exhibitions featuring the work of world renown photographers, but also for the museum's fantastic view and great food.Previous exhibitions: Annie Leibovitz, Robert Mapplethorpe, Sarah Moon, Sally Mann, Anton Corbijn and Albert Watson.Fotografiska also offers workshops, courses in photography, live bands, and much more. Opening hours: Every day. 9-23 (Mon-Sun), except Christmas Eve & Midsummer's Eve. Welcome!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I fully enjoyed the Robert frank and the video on the 2nd floor. Other exhibitions I just couldn't get it.

If the visitors can be quieter it would be nicer. There was a couple sitting on the sofa chatting instead of watching the video which was very annoying.

Walking to and from the museum after dark could be quite quiet. A cruise embarked and there were many drunken men

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,242
    1,231
    346
    85
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I'd go here every week if I had the money...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is, by far, my favorite museum in my hometown. Sure, we have some pretty great historic museums that I also like to visit from time to time, but this is a place that always leaves you wanting more.
I've studied photography for three years and I've worked as a part time photographer for the past seven years, so obviously I feel at home in this kind of environment. Don't get alarmed, though! This is a place where you can bring your 97-year old grandma as well as a 10 year old kid, no previous knowledge needed. You'll be sure to find something interesting for everyone since there's always more than one exhibition on display, and when the kids get tired or whiny you can just pop up to the museums cafeteria for a break while enjoying a spectacular view of Stockholm.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but a bit of a let down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had heard so much about this place so I was really looking forward to going. however it feels like its exaggerated a bit. They layout was really nice and it was good they had lockers for my things. The first exhibition was really nice but after that it got a little boring. I enjoyed watching a video that one about one of the photographers. They have a fabulous view from the top floor!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
244 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Always open (almost)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

If we lived in Stockholm, we would buy a membership to be able to pop in and sit in the restaurant whenever we could. The restaurant/cafe is on top of the museum looking over the water, and there are comfortable sofas near the picture windows. When we were there, several of the tables were occupied by people meeting/discussing over light meals. There were several separate exhibitions. A couple were interesting and one was completely mysterious. The exhibitions change often. The opening hours are very generous and there are lots of courses and events in the building, so there is a nice bustle of activity all the time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
686 reviews
350 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Rotating exhibitions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

There is no permanent exhibition here, just rotating exhibitions, so might be a bit hit and miss on whats on when you are there.

Having said that, 3 different exhibitions were all really good when we visited. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fotografiska also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Fotografiska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing