We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very good location if you like to stay more time at old town. (The old town city is very nice.)
Staffs are friendly and helpful, they have free breakfast or you can make your own here, the kitchen is share but you can use it anytime.
They will give you a password to open your door, cos the staffs only there from 9-5pm, wifi is fast, bed is comfortable. I had a good stayed and I will come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esbella20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Upon arriving to Stockholm's Central Station, the walk to Old Town Lodge was about 20 minutes. There are also train and bus stations close by. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We stayed in the double room with no window. Our room and the front door of the hostel had a personalized key code, so you don't have to worry about keys. The bed took up most of the room, which was fine for us, we'd rather have a larger bed than more floor space anyway. The common area was lovely to sit in and chat with a glass of wine or beer every night, very homey. The kitchen was great, with free coffee & tea, a full refrigerator & freezer, toaster, everything you need. However, note: There is no stove. Restrooms and showers were always clean during our three night stay, as well. I would recommend the Old Town Lodge to any young couples travelling to Stockholm wanting to stay in Gamla stan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Perfect location in Gamla Stan, easy to walk to all sites in Stockholm. Had a 4 bedroom room in the basement with 1 bunk bed and two single beds, window overlooking a quiet street, simple breakfast included, and affordable for pricey Stockholm. Definitely take advantage of the kitchen to great your own meal - big fridge, oven and microwave, but no stove; lots of grocery stores around (one on gamla stan, our favourite was in the train station). Plenty of toilets and showers per floor - love the heated floors! Gamla stan is a great area to get lost in... wander the windy narrow streets, enjoy some fika and meatballs. The only negative was that there wasn't staff always available, but they relayed relevant info in plenty of time. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

room by name Djurgården (room with window) was excellent, nice view to street. Staff was very friendly and breakfast box was prepared In the fridge... because we left early in the morning. Free tea and coffee.
Toilets and showers were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eglepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hostel was modern and mostly clean. The room was a big disappointment with the bed taking up the whole floor space (almost), no windows, little in the way of privacy, and very stale air. The bathrooms were usually clean with the occasional exception. I accidentally brushed off a shelf over the bed when looking for the lightswitch and I started a rain of dust that seemed never ending. If you are a good sleeper and not claustrophobic then this place is fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the dungeon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoryVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel in a calm but very central location. Has dormatories and private rooms. I opted for the latter to get space to set up my computer (which is not possible in the dorm rooms which is simply just a set of beds with glass walls inbetween).

Great atmosphere, great service and access to both free WiFi and a kitchen. Very clean, and it is obvious that the manager wants to make sure that you enjoy your stay. I will come back to stay here again, and I can definitely recommend this place - it feels more like a small hotel than a hostel.

Personal tip: Ask for a room in the basement if you are interested in history. A part of the 800+ year old town wall of Stockholm can be seen there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreasviklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a very nice hostel with great location in Old Town. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And you can get a simple breakfast, coffee/tea bread with jam and cheese. I will strongly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,459 reviews
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#11 of 72 in Stockholm
247 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#8 of 72 in Stockholm
462 reviews
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 72 in Stockholm
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $48 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing